Now in its seventh edition, the original volume of the bestselling Making Sense series is an indispensable research and writing guide for students in any discipline. Maintaining the signature straightforward style of the series, this updated edition outlines the general principles of style, grammar, and usage while covering such topics as how to conduct academic research, how to write essays, and how to properly document sources. Concise and accessible, with new information on technology-based research and group presentations, this latest edition continues to be an invaluable resource for students throughout their academic careers and beyond.
It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Users may browse through articles in the current issue or search for past articles using words, dates or other criteria. CQ Researcher offers in-depth research on dozens of current events and issues each year. From Adoption to Ozone, each issue gives you: comprehensive review of the controversies, historical background, chronology of important events, opposing views from experts on the subject, and extensive bibliographies for additional research. (Source: vendor website.)
It is intended to give the student and other users a quick grasp of the essentials of more than 250 controversial topics in the news since its debut in September 1995. It also contains chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information.
Today's Science is a reference database that seeks to bridge the gap between textbooks and what's happening in science today. In a language and format designed specifically for students, it presents the latest scientific discoveries and the fundamental concepts that underlie them. Drawing on major scientific journals, magazines and newspapers in the United States and abroad, Today's Science covers health, the environment, technology, life science, physical science, earth and space science, and science and society. Today's Science presents and enhances the full backfile of Today's Science on File, a permanent record of significant developments in science and technology published monthly since September 1992. Today's Science also offers expanded teacher content, including menu access to articles that match specific National Science Education Standards.
The GPO Monthly Catalog contains more than 450,000 records for documents printed by the US government. It covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Each record contains a bibliographic citation. Subjects include any subject of interest to the U.S. government. (Source: vendor website.)
The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy. The HSDL collection is accessible using full-text searching and browsing with Advanced Search and Browse by topics based on a unique homeland security taxonomy. In addition, one can filter results by topic, geographic region or event.
Comprehensive, searchable, open access, online archive of public policy research. Developed as partnership of the Center for Governmental Studies, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) Library and Communication Consortium Media Center in Washington, D.C.
PAIS International indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world. Electronic publications and Websites are also indexed. (Source: vendor website.)
The RAND research organization publishes many papers and reports on topics of current public policy interest, including such areas as criminal justice, education, health, national security and international affairs, energy, environment, and science and technology.
SciTech Connect incorporates the contents of two of the most popular core DOE collections and employs an innovative semantic search tool enabling scientists, researchers and the scientifically- attentive public to retrieve more relevant information.
The World Energy Council (WEC) is the principal impartial network of leaders and practitioners promoting an affordable, stable and environmentally sensitive energy system for the greatest benefit of all.
Journals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
Access article databases (such as EconLit, GEOBASE, and PAIS), specialized planning collections (ICUD, NTL, and ULI Development Case Studies), and guides to conducting research in all areas of planning.
OECDiLibrary eBooks cover a variety of economic and social issues including: agriculture and food; development; education and skills; emerging economies; employment; energy; environment and sustainable development; finance and investment; general economics and future studies; governance; industry services and trade; national accounts; nuclear energy; science and information technology; social issues, migration, health; statistics sources and methods; taxation; transition economies; transport; urban, rural and regional development. Statistical databases cover: Agriculture and Food, Bank Profitability; Economic Outlook; Education Statistics; Employment; Globalization; Health Data; ITCS International Trade by Commodity; Indicators for Industry and Services; Institutional Investors; Insurance; International Development; International Direct Investment; International Migration; International Trade and Competitiveness; Main Economic Indicators; Monthly International Trade; National Accounts; Revenue; STAN Industry Structural Analysis; Science and Technology; Services; Social Expenditure; Statistical Compendium; Structural and Demographic Business Statistics; Taxing Wages; Telecommunications.
Sustainable Cities Collective is an editorially independent, moderated community for leaders of major metropolitan areas, urban planning and sustainability professionals. We look to aggregate content and provide resources for all who work in or are interested in urban planning, sustainable development and urban economics.
UNC Electronic Theses and Dissertations provides free access to dissertations and theses submitted electronically to the Graduate School at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for graduation.
Coverage begins in the spring of 2006. Please note that paper and electronic submissions were both accepted through November 2007, and this database does not include dissertations and theses submitted in paper during that period. Electronic submission of all dissertations and theses was required beginning in May 2008, so all dissertations and theses submitted to the Graduate School on or after that date are included in this database.
It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database. The following national newspapers are included in this resource:
LexisNexis Academic is a web-based service that provides access to most of the information formerly available on the LexisNexis Educational Program (approximately 75% of the titles). It covers general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many of the files are full-text. LexisNexis Academic is a service of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Articles + Catalog
Google Scholar UNC
Article searching tips
When searching the following databases, use these tips for better results:
Use wildcard characters: If searching for economic conditions, type the word econ* with an astericks. That will return economies, economic, economist and any other word that starts with [e c o n].
Use quotes: When searching for two words, quotes will search for the words when they're next to each other. Thomas Jefferson will return articles with Thomas Payne and Jefferson Starship. But when "Thomas Jefferson" is searched, only those articles with his name will be returned.