JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.
UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. A moving end-date wall excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
UNC patrons also have access to the current files of subscribed e-journals. You can search the database by journal title, subject categories, author, or keywords in the text as well as limit your search by date, subject category, or type, e. g., article or review. You also have the ability to print or download in TIFF (Tagged Image File Format) as well as PDF and PostScript formats.
Academic Search Premier provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
Access data from the Decennial Census (1990 forward), the Economic Census (1997 forward), Annual Population Estimates (2006 forward), Annual Economic Surveys (2003 forward), and American Community Survey data (test data through 2004 and all ACS data from 2005 forward).
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, with recent data for states and metro areas, as well as some on foreign countries.
The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993. GPO Gate provides another way to access these databases via the University of California. Other government information in print, microform, and electronic formats is available from the Documents collection of the Reference Department at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
ProQuest Congressional is a web-based service that provides indexing, abstracts, and some full-text of publications from and about the United States Congress.
The United States Congressional Serial Set, simply called the Serial Set, is labeled Historical Full-Text in ProQuest Congressional. Historical Full-Text will include the American State Papers, House and Senate Reports, House and Senate Documents, selected Executive Branch documents, other documents that Congress ordered printed, as well as all maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs found within the printed Serial Set. Monthly updates are provided and full coverage from 1789-1969 will be available by the end of December 2005.
The CIS Index, 1970 to present, indexes congressional information including committee hearings, reports and prints, legislative histories, and other material. Congressional Indexes, 1789-1969, does the same for earlier material.
ProQuest Congressional also offers full-text of congressional bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, and the Congressional Record for recent years, as well as the U.S. Code, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations. It also covers a wide variety of additional congressional information, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.
Full-text items not available online, as well as other government information, can normally be found by coming to the Reference Desk in Davis Library, which is a regional Depository for United States Government Documents.