Law.com- offers a number of law firm rankings and surveys, as well as access to publications such as the online version of The American Lawyer.
Martindale-Hubbell Directory of Law Firms - an online directory of practicing attorneys.
The National Law Journal - Each November, "NLJ 250" publishes a listing of the 250 biggest law firms in the U.S. with a brief profile of each firm. Full text articles from 2001 to present are available online through the UNC catalog. Also available in microfilm from 1978 to 2013 (K14. A747).
Westlaw: West Legal Directory (found under "Directories") - allows you to search for directory listings and biographical information on over 1 million law firms and attorneys, in every U.S. jurisdiction and in nearly 60 practice areas. (UNC law password required)
Many BNA databases and newsletters offer law firm news related to the subject area of that particular newsletter or database. To access this information, select which BNA database/newsletter you are interested in and then click on the "all law firms" on the left side of the database homepage. You can also search within individual newsletters/databases for law firms by name.
Bloomberg Law - the Search & Browse feature allows you to search for law firm news and press releases. (UNC law password required)
Law Crossing- ths site maintains a collection of thousands of active legal jobs throughout the world including law firm, corporation, government office, and public interest organizations in the United States. Searches can be filtered by state and city.
LegalStaff.com- offers a searchable job databases with posting nationwide.
Biglaw: How to Survive the First Two Years of Practice in a Mega-firm, or, the Art of Doc Review- this book gives a clear-eyed, intensely personal, and at the same time institutionally sophisticated account of what associates experience and why within America's elite law firms. (F300 .P69 2013)
Vault Guide to the Top 100 Law Firms- every year Vault publishes a book of the top 100 law firms, and includes additinal information on their website. Information about firms includes statistics, major departments and practices, industry groups, major cases from the past year, firm alumni, and quotes from attorneys about everything from firm culture to diversity efforts. (KF301 .V38 2018)
Bloomberg Law’s Law Firm Analytics- includes information for over 7,000 law firms. Users can use the Law Firm Analytics tool to examine law firm data and help them identify insights and visualize legal trends for a given law firm. Filters include narrowing by date, company, case type and jurisdiction.
Westlaw Litigation Analytics- includes information on thousands of law firms. Users can utilize the litigation analytics tool to see the areas of law the firm covers, the courts they practice in, top clients, most frequent motions, and outcomes of cases.
Lexis Litigation Profile Suite - provides information about attorneys and judges, including practice areas, the courts they practice in, frequent motions, and outcomes of cases.
