This is the "Home" page of the "CHEM 241: Analytical Methods" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHEM 241: Analytical Methods  

Last Updated: Jun 24, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/chem241 Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Science Libraries

The Kenan Science Library is on the ground floor of Venable Hall. The Science Library Annex is located behind Wilson library. See our library page for locations and hours.

 

Reserves and E-Reserves

If your professor has placed materials in Reserves or E-Reserves, here's how to access them. For E-Reserves, go to the Libraries' Reserves page. Click on the link for E-Reserves and Reserves Pages. Search for your course. (Choosing the department is often easiest.) Read and "Accept" the statement of use.

Print reserves can be searched for in the Classic catalog.

 

Textbooks

Copies of your textbook and other chemistry textbooks are available at UNC's libraries. You can find them by searching UNC-Chapel Hill's Libraries catalog. Try searching for "chemistry and textbook" (no quotes necessary) as keywords. If you want a specific texbook, you can search for it by title.

Since the Chemistry 101 textbooks are in high demand, some copies are placed on reserve. You can use these in the Reserves Reading Room at the Undergraduate Library.

Online:
Intute Introductory University Chemistry Course is an online resource that functions as a textbook.

 

Chemistry at UNC

 

Plagiarism and the Honor System

Plagiarism
A handout from the UNC Writing Center that defines plagiarism and explains how to avoid it.

UNC Honor System

 

Search the Catalog

   

Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

 

E-Research Tools

The Library subscribes to a number of E-Research Tools that may be helpful in your research. They are:

AccessScience
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology

CHEMnetBASE
Contains many major chemical reference works in a searchable online format.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
An online reference resource (within CHEMnetBASE) that contains values of constants, properties of organic and inorganic compounds, and other data related to chemistry and physics.

 

Chemical and Physical Property Information

ChemFinder
Database includes information such as boiling point, CAS registry number, melting point, molecular weight as well as 2-D and 3-D structures of molecules and links to relevant websites for about 75,000 compounds.

Sigma-Aldrich
Free registration is required to access additional features such as materials safety data sheets and NMR and IR spectra. Limited to Sigma-Aldrich products.

 

Chemistry Online

The following web sites are great for studying or finding practice problems.

General Chemistry Online!
Features a wide variety of free resources--a compound library, tutorials, FAQs, and more.

MIT OpenCourseWare: Chemistry
Course materials from MIT's chemistry classes

General Chemistry: Starting Points for Students is an online resource that is essentially an introductory chemistry textbook.

Open Learning Initiative
From Carnegie Mellon University, interactive info on stoichiometry, plus practice problems.

UNC-Chapel Hill Chemistry Fundamentals
The course associated with this site prepares UNC students for Chemistry 101.

Virtual Classroom
The University of Akron's collection of slides from a variety of chemistry courses.

 

Spectra and Spectroscopy

Spectroscopic Tools
Includes primers on IR and NMR as well as background on theory and applications of spectroscopy.

Collections of Spectra

UNC Kenan Science Library Spectroscopy Subject Guide

NIST Chemistry Web Book
Includes IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds as well as thermodynamic and other spectroscopic data.

Spectral Database System for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
Provides spectra (including IR and NMR) for about 30,000 compounds and searchable by name, formula, and registry number.

Spectroscopic Theory

NMR Spectroscopy: Principles and Applications
Instructional materials from the Global Instructional Chemistry program.

NMR Spectroscopy: Theoretical Principles

Science of Spectroscopy
Includes primers on IR and NMR as well as background on theory and applications of spectroscopy.

Spectroscopy Interpretation Problems

Organic Structure Elucidation: A Workbook of Unknowns

WebSpectra: Problems in NMR and IR Spectroscopy

Science Librarian

Profile Image
Danianne Mizzy
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Science Libraries Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

ACS Style Guidelines

ACS Style Guide: References

ACS Style Guide

ACS Style Sheet

The Web pages listed above only include selected aspects of the ACS style guidelines. For a more comprehensive source, see the ACS Style Guide at the Davis, Kenan Science, or Undergraduate Library reference desk.

 

Nomenclature

 

Material Safety Data Sheets

Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) contain information on chemicals and their properties along with health, physical, and environmental hazards. As they are provided by manufacturers, there is no centralized location so you may have to look in multiple places.

Chemical and Other Safety Information
Includes useful info such as a glossary of terms related to chemical safety, toxicity abbreviations often included in MSDS, and how to interpret an MSDS.

Where to Find MSDS on the Internet
A guide to finding MSDS. Also includes MSDS-related news and updates.

MSDS Sources to Start With

MSDS Search (National MSDS Repository)
Vermont SIRI MSDS Collection

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip