CHEM 460 & 460H - Intermediate Organic Chemistry: Home
About the Kenan Science Library
The Kenan Science Library is on the ground floor of Venable Hall. See our library page for locations and hours.
Chemistry Databases
- SciFindern
- Information from the Chemical Abstracts Service databases
- Tool for chemists, contains information on chemical reactions, substances and references
- Information on organic and inorganic substances and sequences
- Broad range of scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science
Note: Users must first register with their UNC email accounts before accessing this resource. Register: https://login.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=22CACA07X86F35055X223F8A761E25479081
**Please note you will need to register in SciFinder to access the database**
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- REAXYS
- A search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data, and chemical reactions in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry
- Site interface allows search for chemicals by keyword and provides in depth detail for results
- Reaxys integrates content from three major data sources: Beilstein, Gmelin, and the Chemical Patent Database
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- Cambridge Structural Database• Resource for three-dimensional structural data of organic molecules
• Repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures
• Entries from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses
Note: Users must register for an account on the site with a UNC email.
Organic Chemistry Ebooks
Organic Chemistry by ISBN: 9780128010822Publication Date: 2014-06-06Organic Chemistry provides a comprehensive discussion of the basic principles of organic chemistry in their relation to a host of other fields in both physical and biological sciences.
Basic Organic Chemistry for the Life Sciences by ISBN: 9783319076058Publication Date: 2014-06-26This book is designed for students of biology, molecular biology, ecology, medicine, agriculture, forestry and other professions where the knowledge of organic chemistry plays the important role.
The Art of Problem Solving in Organic Chemistry by ISBN: 9781118829608Publication Date: 2014-06-20This long-awaited new edition helps students understand and solve the complex problems that organic chemists regularly face, using a step-by-step method and approachable text.
Zotero Reference Manager
Zotero is a free reference management system where you can collect, manage, cite, and share research. You can use it to store references, highlight and annotate webpages, and collaborate by using groups through Zotero's website. All your references will be saved to the Zotero server. Zotero works with word processors so you can insert citations into research papers and create bibliographies from your saved citations.
For more help visit the Zotero Library Guide.
Libraries Chat
Science Librarian
orcid.org/0000-0001-5494-4574ChemDraw
To request access to ChemDraw, go to the following site, login with your onyen and password, and follow the instructions. You will receive an access code via email to permit you to use the program.
Chem Draw is also available on the public computers in the Kenan Science Library and through the ITS Virtual Lab.
Writing and Citing
- ACS Guide to Scholarly CommunicationThis online style guide resource provides students, researchers, educators and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication (publications, presentations, data conventions and communicating with the public).
Write Like a Chemist by ISBN: 9780195367423Write Like a Chemist is a guide to chemistry-specific writing. It offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.
Outlines:
-
How to write an outline (video)
-
Why and how to create an outline (Purdue OWL)
Abstracts:
- UNC Writing Center - Abstracts - Excellent guide to composing abstracts. Also available as a PDF
Researching in the Sciences (videos)
Author's Guide for submitting an article to the ACS journal Analytical Chemistry
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (online)
