Chemistry: Articles

Recommended Article Databases

For tips on finding articles, try our Science Research tutorial.

SciFinderⁿ
- Information from the Chemical Abstracts Service databases
- Tool for chemists, contains information on chemical reactions, substances and references
- Information on organic and inorganic substances and sequences
- Broad range of scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science
Note: Users must first register with their UNC email accounts before accessing this resource. Register: https://login.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=22CACA07X86F35055X223F8A761E25479081
Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.

Coverage: 1967-present
REAXYS
- A search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data, and chemical reactions in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry
- Site interface allows search for chemicals by keyword and provides in depth detail for results
- Reaxys integrates content from three major data sources: Beilstein, Gmelin, and the Chemical Patent Database
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Scopus
A large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
PubMed
Database of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1957-present

ProQuest Science Journals
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

MarinLit
- Provides comprehensive coverage of marine natural products in journal articles, including new and revised compounds, synthesis, ecology and biological activities
- Searchable by text and structures
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Find E-Journals

E-Journals

Analytical Chemistry

Annual Review of Physical Chemistry

Journal of the American Chemical Society

Journal of Organic Chemistry

Nature Materials

Browse the list of all Chemistry e-journals.

Writing and Citing

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
This online style guide resource provides students, researchers, educators and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication (publications, presentations, data conventions and communicating with the public).

Write Like a Chemist by Marin S. Robinson; Fredricka L. Stoller; Molly Constanza-Robinson; James K. Jones
ISBN: 9780195367423
Write Like a Chemist is a guide to chemistry-specific writing. It offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.