Produced by the 中华人民共和国国家统计局 (National Bureau of Statistics of China). It provides extensive national statistical data from mid-1990s to present. Though dataset coverage varies, national, provincial, county, and city level data can be accessed by year, quarter and month. Information on China's statistical standards, classifications and methods, laws and regulations are included on the website, as are built-in data visualization tools for analyzing the statistics.
Note: For best user experience, please use IE9 or above. Users can view datasets online, but an account sign up is required for downloading data.
Access: No restrictions. Language: English, Chinese
Provides users with a wealth of statistics about contemporary China, focusing on economic and demographic statistics. Data from national, provincial, county, and city levels can be accessed, on a monthly and/or yearly basis.We subscribe only to the China Statistics. Not included in our subscription is the census data.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies, generally from mid-1990s to present
From the Census Bureau's International Programs Center, the IDB is a source of demographic and socio-economic statistics for 227 countries and areas of the world. It provides quick access to specialized information, with emphasis on demographic measures, for individual countries or selected groups of countries.
Access: No restrictions. Coverage: Circa 1950-2050
Provides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
Access: No restrictions.
Note: UNC FACULTY AND STUDENTS ONLY. Ask at Research Hub Service Desk for assistance.
Datastream provides international economic and financial data in time series format. Series are acquired from national governments and banks, the Federal Reserve, the International Monetary Fund, OECD, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and other international agencies and private data providers. Series include commodity prices, debt and equity information, exchange rates, interest rates, stock market indices, futures, options, and more. Time coverage varies, but many series are available in daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual intervals since the mid or late 1900s.
Access: On Campus only. Available in the Davis Library Research Hub. Ask at Research Hub Service Desk for assistance. No off campus access. Coverage: Varies; some major data series start in the 1950s. Updated daily.
The standard source of international and country statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Since 1948, this has provided users with data from 32,000 time series of major economic aggregates used in economic analysis. For most countries of the world, IFS Online provides current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
Note: In order to view the resource, you must accept the prompt to allow pop-ups from their site.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
A massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. You can interactively generate maps and graphs (including country rankings) with ease on all kinds of statistics that cover several hundred categories. Whats more, you can select exactly which countries you want to include. You can also view profiles of individual countries including their maps and flags, as well as a full encyclopedia.
From the World Bank, International Debt Statistics presents the most recent data on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies (data from Quarterly External Debt Statistics and Quarterly Public Sector Debt databases).
Provides access to the data underlying the International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) publication. It includes MONTHLY averages of political risk and economic indicators; Coplin-O'Leary ratings and forecasts; and some general geographic and political information for 145 countries from 1984 to present. Dates of coverage for individual countries vary.
Note: Users will need to allow popups to enable this database to work properly.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1984 - present