Skip to main content

Citing Information

Online Sources

MLA: Online Sources

Citations for electronic resources are, by and large, the same as for their print equivalents, with the addition of subscription information for databases, access dates, and URLs. Once again, examples are presented here single-spaced for clarity, but should appear double-spaced in a works-cited page. URLs are not always required in MLA, but should be included to help readers locate a source, or if your instructor requires them.

Website

MLA Online Website

Course Home Page

MLA Online Course Home Page

Blog Post

MLA Online Blog Post

Newspaper Article without an Author, Retrieved from an Online Database

MLA Online Newspaper Article without an Author, Retrieved from an Online Database

Full-text Article, Retrieved from an Online Database

MLA Online Full-text Article, Retrieved from an Online Database

Article from a Scholarly Journal (Online)

MLA Online Article from a Scholarly Journal

Art (Photo of an Image)

MLA Online Art (Photo of an Image)

Images From A Website/Image Database

MLA Online Images From A Website/Image Database

Motion Picture

Provide the title of the film, the director, the film's distribution company, and the year of release. Between the title and the distributor you may also list other parties that are relevant to your paper or that will help with identification of the film, including screenwriters, actors, producers, etc.

MLA Online Motion Picture

YouTube Video

The MLA does not currently propose a citation style for YouTube videos. Until it does, the following format, which is based on MLA standards for other media formats, is the most acceptable for citing YouTube videos:

MLA Online YouTube Video