Health Data & Statistics: United States

Surveys developed and conducted to monitor state-level prevalence of the major behavioral risks among adults associated with premature morbidity and mortality.

Access to over twenty data sets, including MMWR, Cancer Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results, Fatal Accident Reporting, and National Occupational Mortality Surveillance.

The DRC provides easily accessible national, state, and regional data from large, population-based surveys that do not require statistical expertise to use.

A free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to national and state statistics on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

Dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.

A single, user-friendly, source for national, state, and community health indicators.

The Health System Measurement Project tracks government data on critical U.S. health system indicators. The website presents national trend data as well as detailed views broken out by population characteristics such as age, sex, income level, and insurance coverage status.

"DATA2020, the Healthy People 2020 interactive data tool, allows users to explore the data and technical information related to the Healthy People 2020 objectives."

A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics.

Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.

Portal to public access and secure NCHS data sets, tools and a data linkage program. The NCHS collects data on characteristics that describe the health of a population, determinants of health and health care.

Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce. Online 1937 to 1993. Part 1, Natality online 1994-2003. Library print for 1937-1993: W2 .AA1 .V8362.

Collection of vital statistics products including tables, data files, and reports that allow users to access and examine US vital statistics and population data interactively.

The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults...YRBSS includes a national school-based survey conducted by CDC and state, territorial, tribal, and local surveys conducted by state, territorial, and local education and health agencies and tribal governments.

A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

Longest running annual assessment of the nation`s health on a state-by-state basis.

Provides access to the 50 state reports, ranking each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county’s health.

The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

A free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to national and state statistics on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics.

Provides state and county-level data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and US territories and possessions by gender, race and ethnicity from a variety of national and state sources.

The RWJF Data Hub tracks state-level data and allows users to customize and visualize facts and figures on key health and health care topics.

A web-based table generator tool allowing users to customize tables and graphs of health insurance coverage estimates within a pre-defined set of parameters. The Data Center is a user-friendly and easily accessible way to get health insurance coverage estimates from the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS) and the American Community Survey (ACS).

Model-based estimates of health insurance coverage for counties and states from the U.S. Census Bureau.

"The objective of the State Cancer Profiles Web site is to provide a system to characterize the cancer burden in a standardized manner in order to motivate action, integrate surveillance into cancer control planning, characterize areas and demographic groups, and expose health disparities. The focus is on cancer sites for which there are evidence based control interventions. Interactive graphics and maps provide visual support for deciding where to focus cancer control efforts."

Up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data from all 50 states on more than 500 health topics.

"Provides online data for over 6,000 hospitals...from both public and private sources including Medicare claims data (MedPAR and OPPS), hospital cost reports, and other files obtained from the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)."

Detailed statistics from the American Cancer Society on a range of topics including: estimates of new cancer cases and deaths in the current year by site and state; cancer incidence, mortality, and survival rates and trends; state-level risk factor and screening prevalence.

Interactive data search: 1) Select a Survey, Survey Year, and State or Region. 2) Select your desired Topic/Starting Point. 3) Select your indicator or measure.

HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system that provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

"Each year, the American Heart Association, in conjunction with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Institutes of Health and other government agencies, brings together the most up-to-date statistics on heart disease, stroke and other vascular diseases."

Includes mapping tools, reports, and links to relevant MMWR articles.

These pages provide summary profiles of patient populations, outcomes, and transplants at a national level, including summaries of transplant program- and organ procurement organization-specific data.

Model-based estimates of health insurance coverage for counties and states from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Primary source of national data on the prevalence, treatment, and consequences of substance abuse.

Estimates of the number of people who have received particular vaccines measured at national, state, and local levels.

Annual compendium of health status, health care resource use, and vital statistics from HHS agencies. Online starts with first in 1975 to most recent. Library has print for 1975-2007: WA 900 AA1 N277h.

Healthy People provides science-based, national goals and objectives with 10-year targets designed to guide national health promotion and disease prevention efforts to improve the health of all people in the United States. For three decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time.

Physician data was assembled from more than 1 million U.S. physicians. It was gathered directly from the AMA Physician Masterfile and provides the most credible source of physician statistics available.

Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce. Online 1937 to 1993. Part 1, Natality online 1994-2003. Library print for 1937-1993: W2 .AA1 .V8362.

Useful for historical data. Last published in 2012.

Each series presents data analyses for a data collection system or a family of related systems.

Comprehensive reference source for analysis and comparison of hospital trends.
Call#: WX 16 H828s

AHA Guide® profiles more than 6,500 hospitals featuring data on the number of beds and admissions, services offered, personnel data and key contacts. This book also lists thousands of health organizations, agencies and other providers.
Call#: WX 22 AA1 A5123