How to Comply with the NIH Public Access Policy
Articles arising from NIH funds accepted for publication after April 7, 2008 must be submitted to PubMed Central (PMC) upon acceptance. They must be made publicly available no more than 12 months after appearing in a peer-reviewed journal.
- What papers need to be submitted?Peer Reviewed and accepted on or after April 7, 2008 and arises from direct funding...
- Four Submission Methods
- List of Journals that Submit All Final Funded ArticlesThis is a list of the journals that fufill Submission Method A by depositing all NIH-funded final published articles in PubMed Central without author involvement.
- NIH Manuscript Submission System LoginAuthor deposits and submission approvals are completed using this system.
- NIH Manuscript Sumbission System HelpIncludes FAQ and step by step slides.
- Submitting an Article to PubMed Central12 minute step-by-step video.
Demonstrating Compliance
NIH grantees need to demonstrate compliance with the Public Access Policy when submitting an application, proposal, or progress report to the NIH. Grantees should include the PubMed Central (PMC) reference number for each paper that was accepted for publication after April 7, 2008 and was authored or co-authored by the applicant or arose from their NIH award.
- Include PMCID in CitationsHow to cite and examples of citations.
- PMID : PMCID ConverterGiven a set of PubMed IDs (PMIDs) you can use this converter to obtain the corresponding PMCIDs and/or NIHMS IDs if they exist...
- PubMed Central New Search Option for Embargoed ArticlesDescribes a PMC search option to easily retrieve both the citations for embargoed articles and their PMCIDs.
- My NCBI: Using My BibliographyThe My Bibliography Awards View allows eRA Commons users to see whether publications are compliant.
- Using EndNote to Manage NIHMSID & PMCID NumbersEndNote X3 and later come with updated files that import the PMC number to the PMC field automatically. This link takes you to to an EndNote FAQ that provides files to update versions X1 & X2.
- Go to HSL RefWorks Login & Quick Tips pageRefWorks currently imports PMCID numbers into the PMCID field. The National Institutes for Health output style will format citations with PMCID numbers appropriately.
Manage NIH Bibliography with MY NCBI via PubMed
- Manage Your Professional BibliographyThis page on the ERA commons website has a list of "how to" links on the bottom that provides online demos on using My NCBI.
- My NCBI Help: Managing Compliance"Using the Award feature in My Bibliography, eRA Commons users are able to see whether their publications are compliant with the NIH Public Access Policy, to start the compliance process and to associate their publications to NIH extramural awards. The Award feature is only available to eRA Commons users who have active grants in their portfolios."
- My NCBI / My Bibliography PresentationPresentation by Bart Trawick, staff scientist at NCBI, about using My NCBI / My Bibliography to track NIH Public Access Policy compliance.
UNC-CH PMC Manuscripts
Ask a Librarian
We are here to help!
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Email
FAQ
One-on-One Consultation
Classes
Phone 919 - 962 - 0800
Text/SMS 919 - 584 - 5931
Data Librarian
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
