Neurosurgery: Search Tools
Created by Health Science Librarians
A to Z Databases
- browse by title
- browse by subject
- search by database name
Finding the Latest Evidence
If you need to find recent evidence but what you need is not in UpToDate or want to see the latest studies on a topic, PubMed is a good place to go.
To quickly see recent RCTs or other publications on a topic of interest, use the PubMed Clinical Queries tool to see the most recent publications, filtered by type of question and methods.
To see all papers in PubMed, the homepage has one search box and the advanced search page has multiple options for constructing a complex search.
For tips and tricks to make it easier to search PubMed, check out the Searching PubMed guide.
Core Search Tools
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- EmbaseHighly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Supports drug discovery & development, pharmacovigilance, medical device development and post-market surveillance, and evidence-based medicine.
- Cochrane LibraryLeading source for full-text systematic reviews in health care. Searches a collection of databases that includes the CDSR, CENTRAL, Clinical Answers, and selected reviews from Epistemonikos. RCTs are from Medline, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, the WHO ICTRP, CINAHL (since 2020) and more. Click on "Search Limits" or the Browse tab to select content from a specific database.
- DynaMedDynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis
Drug Search Tools
- Facts & Comparisons e-AnswersDrug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts are seamlessly updated and can be customized; includes Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction FactsTM, The Review of Natural Products and Med Facts: Patient Information.
- Micromedex (On Campus Only)Search for drug information by drug, disease, or toxicology. Additional tools (accessed via top tabs) provide information about drug interactions; IV compatibility; drug ID; and drug comparisons. NeoFax provides pediatric drug information. Use mobile instructions for off-campus access.
- Natural MedicinesEvidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbal remedies and supplements, with validated rating scales and grades to quickly evaluate quality; comprehensive monographs designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Includes content drawn from the former Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits available.
Anatomy
Ask Us
We are here to help!
Classes
Phone (919) 962-0800
Text/SMS (919) 584-5931
Find @ UNC
Click on the 
button in database results to:
- Go directly to most online articles
- Export article citations to Endnote or to formats for other reference managers
- Use Google Scholar or the Google Scholar Button browser add-in to find free full text.
- Search the UNC-CH Library Catalog to find the print journal
- Send an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if the journal is not owned by UNC-CH
Connect with us
