Exercise and Sport Science: Library Resources for Research: Books/Videos

Explores the world of physical education in schools. It includes discussions on several topics which include a historical overview of the relation between health and physical education; new institutional designs to achieve better results for children; the role of professionally guided physical education in primary school; effects of traditional games played in physical education classes with elementary school students; school-based physical activity interventions to prevent or reduce obesity; and the psychosocial dynamics of physical education for students with disabilities.

Collection of research on sport business theory and practice identifies research themes from governance to branding, from sport events to sport systems, and from social media to fan identity, and they specifically reflect on the application of major theoretical concepts and key research methods. The authors' aim is to advance sport business research through critical reflection on topic selection, research design, data analysis and interpretation.

This book systematically demonstrates the significance and application of method in plain language. Written for students by a leading academic, this book contains the core methodological concepts, practices and debates they need to understand and apply research methods within the field of sport and exercise. It provides a comprehensive panoramic introduction which will reassure and empower its readers. Drawing on the author's years of teaching experience, it includes carefully cross-referenced entries which critically engage with interdisciplinary themes and data.

Focuses on the application of mixed methods research in the movement sciences, specifically in sport, physical education and dance. Researchers and practitioners in each of these fields are concerned with the study of habitual behaviour in naturalistic contexts, and of the concurrent and sequential nature of events and states, precisely the kind of work that multi-method research design can help illuminate.

With more than 7,500 entries and over 165 illustrations, this dictionary of sports science covers anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology and sports medicine.

Addresses issues in methodology, contemporary issues in research methods and innovative trends in qualitative research that are addressed through case study examples from areas of research in sport studies. This title includes: historical methods; ethnography; auto-ethnography; embodied methods; interviewing; and, narratives.

Explains how to undertake a research project in performance analysis including: selection and specification of a research topic the research proposal gaining ethical approval for a study developing a performance analysis system testing a system for reliability analysing and discussing data writing up results.

Takes the reader through each phase of the research process, from identifying valuable research questions, to data collection and analyses, to the presentation and dissemination of research findings.

Guide to the epidemiology and methodology involved in sports injury research. It includes detailed background on epidemiological methods employed in research on sports injuries, discusses key methodological issues, and teaches the reader to recognize the influence of the employed methodology on interpretations of study results.