What is in this guide?
This page provides primary resources and critical apparatus for analyzing French and Francophone representations of the Americas.
- Home/General Databases - Subject Librarian contact information and Quick Links
- Searching - Search boxes for the Library Catalog, WorldCat, and Google Scholar as well as so relevant searches
- French Resources - French language resources online and in print
- Film & Cinema - Links to the MRC and important review sites
Citing
Create citations in the right format using this web form.
Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.
Academic Databases
- MLA International BibliographyMLA indexes literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
- CAIRNFull-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
- ARTFL ProjectThe ARTFL Project texts range from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926Sabin Americana is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
- Academic Search CompleteCovers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. and provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It contains annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square.
- American History and LifeThis database indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews on US and Canadian history.
- Literature Resource CenterOffers a wealth of critical and biographical information about authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, as well as author biographies and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
- Periodicals Index OnlinePeriodical Index Online provides keyword indexing to the contents of over 4700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, and includes separate records for approximately 15 million journal articles across 37 subject areas and 44 languages and dialects.
- Dissertations and Theses @ UNC-Chapel HillDissertations & Theses@University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill provides indexing and some full text access to dissertations completed here at Chapel Hill and submitted to the Dissertations Abstracts database.
Full-text Archives
West European Librarian |
Chat requires JavaScript. Links: Profile & Guides |
Davis Chat
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.



Loading...
