Articles+
Google Scholar UNC

Tracking Scholarship
This guide points to many sources for book reviews. Also, the databases for finding scholarly articles often also identify reviews in those journals.
H-Net Reviews is a good source for scholarly reviews.
In addition, the Web of Science (don't let the name fool you) allows you to track articles as they are cited through time and also identify book reviews.
New Research
You can set up new search alerts in many journal databases to receive updated news of research on your topic. Here's a training video to do this for EBSCO databases, such as America History and Life.
You can also set up an RSS feed from our online catalog for new books on your topic.
Finding Scholarly Articles
First, you will want to know about different types of periodical articles.
For this course, you will mainly use these two databases to find scholarly articles.
- America History and Life Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews on US and Canadian history
- Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
We have additional History databases, as well as hundreds covering other fields.
Finding Books
One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress Subject Headings within the item's full record tab and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar or related books.
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.
- Keyword: POWs North Carolina
- Associated Subject Heading: "Prisoners of war -- North Carolina."
- Associated Subject Heading: "World War, 1939-1945 -- Prisoners and prisons, American"
- Keyword: military wives World War 1939 1945 "United States"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Army spouses -- United States -- Biography."
- Associated Subject Heading: "World War, 1939-1945 -- Women -- United States "
Librarian |
Chat requires JavaScript. Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: History |
Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
