Global Health: Africa and the Middle East

The national version of FAOSTAT, CountrySTAT, is being developed and implemented in a number of target countries, primarily in sub-saharan Africa. It offers a two-way data exchange facility between countries and FAO as well as a facility to store data at the national and sub-national levels.

Data summaries for the member nations of WHO that can be filtered by region or name of nation.

The WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region comprises 22 Member States covering north Africa and the Middle East.

The WHO African Region is one of the six regions of WHO, and represents 46 Member States.

AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research.

The ACBF on-line library provides free full text e-books on capacity development in Africa covering science technology & innovation; regional integration; domestic resource mobilization; agriculture and food security; natural resources management; youth and gender, governance and economic development etc. The publications are open access.

An international index to African health literature and information sources.

African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals. AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research.

For over a half century, Columbia University Libraries have built an extensive collection to support instructional and research programs on Africa at the University. This LibGuide provides links to several external resources.

Connecting-Africa is a gateway to African research information produced worldwide. It provides access to 89,832 publications from 99 repositories. All publications originate from these repositories.

An index to health literature from the member nations of the WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region.

The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.

Mideastwire.com is an Internet-based, licensed news service that employs a team of translators around the region to gather important stories from and about the Middle East.

A regional overview from the UNESCO Science Report: towards 2030, which was released in November 2015. Spanning the period between 2009 and 2015, it monitors trends and developments in scientific research and governance, with data on 189 countries and profiles of 140 of them.

The WHO Regional Office for Africa (AFRO) Health Sciences Library and Documentation Centre collects, organizes and disseminates medical and health-related literature.