Articles+
Google Scholar UNC

Tracking Scholarship
This guide points to many sources for book reviews. Also, the databases for finding scholarly articles often also identify reviews in those journals.
H-Net Reviews is a good source for scholarly reviews.
In addition, the Web of Science (don't let the name fool you) allows you to track articles as they are cited through time and also identify book reviews.
New Research
You can set up new search alerts in many journal databases to receive updated news of research on your topic. Here's a training video to do this for EBSCO databases, such as ATLA Religion Database.
You can also set up an RSS feed from our online catalog for new books on your topic.
Finding Scholarly Articles
First, you want to know the different types of periodical articles.
These databases are starting points for finding journal articles for your topics.
- ATLA Religion Database. Major index to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in the field of religion.
- Philosospher's Index. Major index of scholarly journals, books, and book reviews in the many fields of philosophy,
- EconLit. A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature.
- Business Source Complete. Full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business.
- AnthroSource. Current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications and and complete web archives of all AAA journals.
We have additional databases in Religious Studies, Philosophy, Economics, and Anthropology, as well as hundreds covering other fields.
Finding Books
One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress Subject Headings within the item's full record tab and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar or related books.
- Keyword: Amway
- Associated Subject Heading: "Amway Corporation."
- Associated Subject Heading: "Direct selling -- United States."
- Keyword: "Prosperity Gospel"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Consumption (Economics) -- United States"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Rich people -- United States."
- Keyword: debt morality
- Associated Subject Heading: "Banks and banking -- Religious aspects."
- Associated Subject Heading: "Business ethics -- United States"
- Keyword: usury bibliography
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.
Librarian |
Chat requires JavaScript. Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
