This is the "Articles and Books" page of the "HIST 292H-001 The United States and Africa" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 292H-001 The United States and Africa  

This guide is for students in HIST 292H-001, The United States and Africa, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Spring 2012.
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/content.php?pid=311110 Print Guide Email Alerts

Articles and Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Articles+

Google Scholar UNC

 

Tracking Scholarship

This guide points to many sources for book reviews.  Also, the databases for finding scholarly articles often also identify reviews in those journals.

H-Net Reviews is a good source for scholarly reviews.

In addition, the Web of Science (don't let the name fool you) allows you to track articles as they are cited through time and also identify book reviews.

 

New Research

You can set up new search alerts in many journal databases to receive updated news of research on your topic.  Here's a training video to do this for EBSCO databases, such as America History and Life.


You can also set up an RSS feed from our online catalog for new books on your topic.

Finding Scholarly Articles

First, you also want to know the different types of periodical articles.

These databases are good starting points for finding journal articles for many topics of historical research.  

  • America History and Life.  Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews on US and Canadian history.
  • Historical Abstracts. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
  • Africa-wide NiPad.  Provides access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa.

We have additional databases in United States History, African Studies, International Studies, and Public Policy, as well as hundreds covering other fields.

 

Finding Books

One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress Subject Headings within the item's full record tab and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar or related books.

You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.

Librarian

Profile Image
Robert Dalton
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-1151
Send Email
Subjects:
History
 

Davis Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip