This is the "Home" page of the "MUSC141 Survey of Western Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUSC141 Survey of Western Music  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/musc141 Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Reference Sources

Online Listening

  • Music Online
    Cross-searches all the sub-collections from Alexander Street Press: Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Song, and Contemporary World Music
  • Naxos Music Library
    Another streaming audio database for (mostly) classical music
 

Citing and Formatting

Chicago-style Citation Quick Guide, Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Manual of Style examples of bibliographic citations in music, from Towson University

More on Citing Music Sources


Citing Information Tutorial

citation builder icon
Create citations in the right format using this web form.

refworks icon
Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.

 

What is in this guide?

Welcome to the UNC Music Library! We hope you'll take advantage of this world-class collection for your course work, as study space and for your own musical pleasure.

Beethoven's Piano Sonata, op. 111

This guide will help you find, use, and cite resources held by the UNC Music Library for MUSC141, Survey of Western Music. 

See the Music Library's homepage for additional research tools for music.

 

Search the online catalog

   

Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat


To find books about music or sound recordings, start by searching our catalog!

  • Use KEYWORD search.
  • Search the catalog on the Music Library homepage for Auto-Suggest feature.
  • Refine your search with limiters on the left side of the screen

Ex. KEYWORD: George Gershwin    
       FORMAT
: Audio

Ex. KEYWORD: Musical exoticism
       FORMAT
: Books

Pay attention to the item's location; there are several collections on campus that have music materials.

When you find a book or recording you are interested in, click on its Subject tab to find similar items.  If the item you want is checked out or we don't own it, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

More eBooks, Journal & News Articles

  • Articles+
    A search engine providing a single access point to articles, e-book content, and more. Articles from JSTOR and IIMP are included in Articles+ searches.
  • Music Index
    Provides citations and full-text access to tens of thousands of articles about music. From the main search screen, go to Choose Databases to add RILM to your search to find even more articles and books on music.

Music Public Services Librarian

Profile Image
Diane Steinhaus
Contact Info
Music Library
(919) 966-1113
Send Email

Course Reserves

 

Music Library Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Music Library Hours

Mon-Thurs     8:00am-9:30pm
Friday 8:00am-6:00pm
Saturday closed
Sunday 1:00pm-9:30pm
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip