This is the "Articles and Books" page of the "HIST 263H-001 War and Gender in Movies: European Warfare in Twentieth Century Feature Films" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 263H-001 War and Gender in Movies: European Warfare in Twentieth Century Feature Films  

This page is for students in HIST 263H-001, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Spring 2013.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/content.php?pid=316170 Print Guide Email Alerts

Articles and Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Articles+

Google Scholar UNC

 

Tracking Scholarship

This guide points to many sources for book reviews.  Also, the databases for finding scholarly articles often also identify reviews in those journals.

H-Net Reviews is a good source for scholarly reviews.

In addition, the Web of Science (don't let the name fool you) allows you to track articles as they are cited through time and also identify book reviews.

 

New Research

You can set up new search alerts in many journal databases to receive updated news of research on your topic.  Here's a training video to do this for EBSCO databases, such as America History and Life.


You can also set up an RSS feed from our online catalog for new books on your topic.

Finding Scholarly Articles

First, you want to know the different types of periodical articles.

The resources listed below are good starting points to find articles about your topic.  

  • Film & Television Literature Index  Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for reviews, scholarly and critical analysis, and articles of popular interest.
  • FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus. Indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals
  • Film Index International.  References articles but a strong sources for film credits information.
  • GenderWatch
    Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
  • America History and Life
    Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews on US and Canadian history.

 

Look for other databases in History, Film Studies, Sexuality Studies, and Women's Studies. and hundreds covering other fields.

 

Finding Books

One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress Subject Headings within the item's full record tab and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar or related books.

 You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.

Sample searches in the catalog

How to read a Library of Congress Call Number and Davis Library Stack locations.

Librarian

Profile Image
Robert Dalton
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-1151
Send Email
Subjects:
History
 

Davis Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip