This is the "Home" page of the "Geology of National Parks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geology of National Parks  

Last Updated: May 30, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/geolparks Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Geology of National Parks

Rocky Mountain National Park
photo courtesy of Penn State Libraries Pictures Collection

 

Science Libraries Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

What is in this guide?

This guide presents selected resources related to the geology of US national parks. To find additional material, search the library catalog using common keywords like national parks and geology, or the name of a particular park. You can also browse the Science Library Annex collection in the QE71 - QE79 call number range, or browse virtually by choosing "Advanced Search" under "Search the Catalog" and choosing "Science Library Annex" from the Location dropdown menu.

 

Books

The following books can be found in the UNC library collection. Click on each title to see more detailed information, including specific location.

General


Specific Parks

Alaskan Parks

Badlands

Big Bend

Canyonlands and Arches

Death Valley

Everglades

Grand Canyon

Great Smoky Mountains

Rocky Mountains

Western Parks

Yellowstone and Grand Tetons

Yosemite

 

Websites

National Park Service

  • Search by Geologic Feature
    Explore national parks by geologic feature. Each topic page links to parks with those features, including caves, fossils, glaciers, volcanoes, and more.
  • Search by Park Name
    Search by name of park to find information about the park's geology.
  • Search by State
    Search by state to locate national parks and learn about the park's geology.
  • Geologic Wonders of the National Parks
    Examples of geologic phenomena at selected parks.
  • Geology in the Parks
    The NPS and USGS present information on general geology topics and the geology of selected parks, including virtual field trips.

U.S. Geological Survey

 

Article Databases

GeoRef
GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences, providing access to worldwide geological literature. It covers the geology of North America from 1669 to present and the rest of the world from 1933 to present. GeoRef indexes articles from more than 3,000 journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. It also includes references to publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

GeoBase
GEOBASE covers worldwide literature on geology, geography, ecology, and related disciplines. Over 2,000 journals are fully covered, and an additional 3,000 are selectively covered. More than 2,000 books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports are also covered.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
David Romito
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip