This is the "Articles and Books" page of the "RELI 700 Theory and Method in Religious Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
University Libraries banner

RELI 700 Theory and Method in Religious Studies  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/content.php?pid=320231 Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Articles and Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Articles+


Google Scholar UNC

 About
 

Tracking Scholarship

This guide points to many sources for book reviews.  Also, the databases for finding scholarly articles often also identify reviews in those journals.

H-Net Reviews is a good source for scholarly reviews.

In addition, the Web of Science (don't let the name fool you) allows you to track articles as they are cited through time and also identify book reviews.

 

New Research

You can set up new search alerts in many journal databases to receive updated news of research on your topic.  Here's a training video to do this for EBSCO databases, such as ATLA Religion Database.


You can also set up an RSS feed from our online catalog for new books on your topic.

Finding Scholarly Articles

First, you want to know the different types of periodical articles.

These databases are important starting points for religious studies research.  

  • ATLA Religion Database Major index to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in the field of religion.
  • ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
    Covers over 200 periodicals publishing articles on the faith and practice of Catholics and Catholicism. The print back file, from 1930 - 2008, is in Davis Library Reference, Row 16.
  • Index Islamicus
    "The international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world".
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals
    Covers over 220 journals studying Jewish affairs and Judaism around the world. The print back file, from 1963 - 2008, is in Davis Library Reference, Row 16.
  • Philosospher's Index. Major index of scholarly journals, books, and book reviews in the many fields of philosophy.


We have additional databases in Religious Studies, and Philosophy as well as hundreds covering other fields.

 

Finding Books

One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress Subject Headings within the item's full record tab and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar or related books.

You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.


How to read a Library of Congress Call Number and Davis Library Stack locations.

Librarian

Profile Image
Robert Dalton
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-1151
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip