This is the "Home" page of the "Guide to German Studies " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University Libraries banner
University Libraries banner

Guide to German Studies  

German Studies
Last Updated: Jun 18, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/GERM2012 Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this guide?

This guide provides links to core German Studies Resources. Digital editions have been preferred for this guide to provide for remote access. For a more comprehensive guide, see Heidi Madden's Carolina-Duke Program in German Studies. (Note that you may need to authenitcate with your Duke login for access to resources in this guide.

Select a topic below to start your begin your search.

Essential German Databases

  • Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)
    This is the premier bibliography for Western-language studies of German language and literature. It covers articles, books, dissertations, and reviews. BDSL is sometimes referred to as Eppelsheimer/Köttelwesch after the editors.
  • DigiZeitschriften
    Provides full-text access to some German journals and annuals, often covering them in their entirety (some start in the 1800s). Subjects include literature, history, art, religion, music, law, and the sciences.
  • Germanistik
    An international index of materials in German language and literature. Online 2008-present; in print 1960-2008.
  • Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften­literatur (IBZ online)
    Provides more than two million articles in a wide variety of German and non-German journals, annuals, learned society yearbooks, conference proceedings, newspapers, etc. in all fields of knowledge and all languages, from a German point of view. Online 1981-present; in print 1896-1986.
  • Mediaevum.de
    Offers extensive online information, portals to websites, and other online resources that focus on German and Latin literature of the Middle Ages.
  • Zeitschriften der Aufklärung
    Contains digitized journals and review organs from the enlightenment period.

West European Librarian

 

Grimms Wörterbuch

Grimms Wörterbuch  
The largest and most historically significant dictionaries of the German language. It may be considered a functional equivalent of the Oxford English Dictionary.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip