This is the "Home" page of the "Romance Languages" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University Libraries banner
University Libraries banner

Romance Languages  

This guide provides links to online Romance Languages resources.
Last Updated: Mar 8, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/romll2012 Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this guide?

Alternative Text

The Home Tab provides helpful databases and subject librarian contact information.
The Searching Tab provides search boxes for books and articles that will allow the user to authenticate when working outside the library.
The French Tab links to major French and Francophone resources, libraries, and digital projects.
The Italian Tab links to major Italian resources, libraries, and digital projects.
The Spanish/Iberian Tab links to Spanish, Catalan, and other Iberian resources, libraries, and digital projects.

The Cinema Tab provides links to films, reviews and professional resources.


The Romance Languages subject guide provides general resources for French, Italian, and Spanish/Iberian studies, literature and cinema.

Additional materials may be found by consulting the Guide to Medieval and Early Modern Studies, the Latin American resource pages, the History Guides, and the English and Comparative Literature Guides.

Essential Databases

These are full-text databases provide general coverage of issues relating to Romance Language studies.

  • MLA International Bibliography
    MLA indexes literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
  • CAIRN
    Full-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
  • Editoria Italiana Online - Italian Studies
    This is a package of 319 monographs, 55 serials, and 92 conference proceedings in the discipline of Italian Studies. Specifically, the focus of the database is literature and language, history, social sciences, religion, and arts. Publications from some of Italy's standard and scholarly publishers feature in this collection, including Bulzoni, Cadmo, Longo, Olschki, and many others. There is an English interface. Retrieved documents appear as pdf files. The back files of journals generally begin in 2000.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles.
  • ArchiveGrid
    ArchiveGrid provides online access to descriptions of archival collections worldwide.
  • dLOC: Digital Library of the Caribbean
    The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections
  • Ethnic Newswatch
    Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. and provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It contains annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square
  • IBZ Online (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
    The IBZ Online is a universal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent. The search interface is in English. The print counterpart is Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur; earlier titles exist from 1896.
  • International Medieval Bibliography
    IMB is the essential electronic bibliography for works in the the humanities
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    Provides full-text access to general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information, and other topics such as biographical information.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Offers critical and biographical information about authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, as well as author biographies and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
  • Periodicals Index Online
    Periodical Index Online provides keyword indexing to the contents of over 4700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, and includes separate records for approximately 15 million journal articles across 37 subject areas and 44 languages and dialects.

West European Librarian

 

L'Harmathèque trial

Our 30 day trial of L'Harmathèque began yesterday, Monday, March 4.  The trial works on our IP ranges  and should be accessible at http://www.harmatheque.com/

 

Please send feedback to Libby Chenault, chenault@email.unc.edu

 

 

Citing

Citing Information Tutorial

    citation builder icon

      Create citations in the right format using this web form.

      refworks icon

        Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.

        Full-text Archives

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip