This is a guide to the digital resources for Women's and Gender Studies.
- Home - This tab includes contact information and essential databases
- Search for Books & Articles - This tab offers search boxes for books, articles, and other research materials
- Databases & Links - This tab includes primary source and bibliographic databases as well as links to Women's Studies sites of interest
- Data & Media - This tab links the researcher to documentaries, social science and data resources
- Reference - This tab provides links to reference titles and projects
The databases highlighted below are essential to Women's Studies research. You may also want to browse all Women's Studies databases.
GenderWatch (enlarging the scope of Women 'R') is a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. The database provides coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives, including family, birth control, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: popular culture and media, business and work, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure.
- Women's Studies International
This interdisciplinary database covers women's issues worldwide and indexes the core literature of the field with links to full text. Women's Studies International is an interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1972-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-1995), The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and Disciplines (1970-1995), Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography (1995), Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A Bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies (1985-1990), and POPLINE Subset on Women (1964-present). NISC will add new databases as they become available.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
This database brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies that document women's organizations and the multiplicity of women's activism in American public life. It also provides access to documented projects of interest to today's students, each including footnotes to introductory material, annotations of primary documents, a bibliography, and a list of related Web links.
- Alt-Press Watch
Alt-Press Watch provides full text access to almost 200 alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism.