On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
This guide is designed for general research in French and Francophone literature and cinema as it captures and reflects society, class, culture, and identity.
- Home/General Databases - Subject Librarian contact information and Quick Links
- Searching - Search boxes for the Library Catalog, WorldCat, and Google Scholar as well as so relevant searches
- French Resources - French language resources online and in print
- Film & Cinema - Links to the MRC and important review sites
- Dissertations & Theses
Indexes US dissertations from 1861 to as recent as last semester with full text available from 1997 on. Masters’ theses are covered more selectively and some full text is available. The database covers work done at more than a thousand institutions, primarily in the United States but also in Canada and Great Britain, and at other European universities for recent years.
- Dissertations and Theses @ UNC-Chapel Hill
This data base provides electronically, free full texts of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008.
These are full-text databases provide general coverage of issues relating to French & Francophone studies.
- MLA International Bibliography
MLA indexes literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
Full-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
- IBZ Online (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
The IBZ Online is a universal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent. The search interface is in English. The print counterpart is Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur; earlier titles exist from 1896.
- Academic Search Complete
Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles.
- Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. and provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It contains annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square
- International Medieval Bibliography
IMB is the essential electronic bibliography for works in the the humanities
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information, and other topics such as biographical information.
- Literature Resource Center
Offers critical and biographical information about authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, as well as author biographies and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
- Periodicals Index Online
Periodical Index Online provides keyword indexing to the contents of over 4700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, and includes separate records for approximately 15 million journal articles across 37 subject areas and 44 languages and dialects.
Citing Information Tutorial
Create citations in the right format using this web form.
Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.