Articles+
Google Scholar UNC

Tracking Scholarship
This guide points to many sources for book reviews. Also, the databases for finding scholarly articles often identify reviews in those journals.
H-Net Reviews is a good source for scholarly reviews.
In addition, the Web of Science (don't let the name fool you) allows you to track articles as they are cited through time and also identify book reviews.
New Research
You can set up new search alerts in many journal databases to receive updated news of research on your topic. Here's a training video to do this for EBSCO databases, such as Historical Abstracts.
You can also set up an RSS feed from our online catalog for new books on your topic.
Finding Books
One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress Subject Headings within the item's full record tab and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar or related books.
- Keyword: Britain Germany relations
- Associated Subject Heading: "Great Britain--Foreign Relations--Germany"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Cross-cultural comparisons--Great Britain."
- Keyword: Suez Canal crisis
- Associated Subject Heading: "Egypt -- History -- Intervention, 1956."
- Associated Subject Heading: "Suez Canal (Egypt) -- History."
- Keyword: Britain India bibliography
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.
How to read a Library of Congress Call Number and Davis Library Stack locations.
Finding Scholarly Articles
First, you also want to know the different types of periodical articles.
These databases are important starting points for finding journal articles for research in this class.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History
Covers over 600 journals dealing with all aspects of British and Irish history. - Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). - America History and Life
Major index for the history of North America.
We have additional History databases, as well as hundreds covering other fields.
Librarian |
Chat requires JavaScript. Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: History |


Loading...
