Google Scholar UNC
This guide points to many sources for book reviews. Also, the databases for finding scholarly articles often also identify reviews in those journals.
H-Net Reviews is a good source for scholarly reviews.
In addition, the Web of Science (don't let the name fool you) allows you to track articles as they are cited through time and also identify book reviews.
Finding Scholarly Articles
First, you also want to know the different types of periodical articles.
These databases are good starting points for finding journal articles for your research for this course..
- Historical Abstracts. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
- MLA International Bibliography. Major index for journal articles of literary analysis and criticism.
- European Studies databases.
- Women's Studies databases.
One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress Subject Headings within the item's full record tab and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar or related books.
- Keyword: World War I nurses
- Associated Subject Heading: "World War, 1914-1918 -- Medical care -- Great Britain."
- Associated Subject Heading: "Military nursing --Great Britain -- History -- 20th century."
- Keyword: French resistance Germany women
- Associated Subject Heading: "World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives, French"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Anti-Nazi movement -- Germany."
- Keyword: Europe women history bibliography\
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.