Articles+
Google Scholar UNC

Tracking Scholarship
This guide points to many sources for book reviews. Also, the databases for finding scholarly articles often also identify reviews in those journals.
H-Net Reviews is a good source for scholarly reviews.
In addition, the Web of Science (don't let the name fool you) allows you to track articles as they are cited through time and also identify book reviews.
New Research
You can set up new search alerts in many journal databases to receive updated news of research on your topic. Here's a training video to do this for EBSCO databases, such as Historical Abstracts.
You can also set up an RSS feed from our online catalog for new books on your topic.
Finding Scholarly Articles
First, you also want to know the different types of periodical articles.
We have hundreds of databases covering many fields of research.
These databases are good starting points for finding journal articles for your research for this course.
- America History and Life. Covers the history of North America.
- America's News and LexisNexis Academic. Two major current news databases.
- Academic Search Complete. Provides information from a wide range of academic areas.
Finding Books
One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress Subject Headings within the item's full record tab and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar or related books.
- Keyword: World of Warcraft
- Associated Subject Heading: "World of Warcraft."
- Associated Subject Heading: "Computer games -- Philosophy."
- Keyword: Chapel Hill history
- Associated Subject Heading: "University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill -- History"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Chapel Hill (N.C.) -- History."
- Keyword: "public art" bibliography
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.
Wilson Special Collections Library Information
Here are a few links that you may find helpful when researching North Carolina- and UNC-related topics:
How to Register to Use Special Collections in Wilson Library
How to Research at Wilson Library
Finding Local History Resources
Librarian |
Chat requires JavaScript. Links: Profile & Guides |
Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
