Tibetan Studies Resources: Books, Articles, & Databases
Resources for Tibetan Studies
East Asian Gateway Services
In the U.S., you can use Gateway Services, a free delivery service for full-text Chinese language academic publications held by libraries in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Japan. Use the following indexes for articles:
Articles + Catalog
Searchable using Chinese as well as a romanized script for Chinese resources.
- All the computers in Davis Library are able to input Chinese scripts. If your item is not available at UNC, try TRLN (Triangle Research Libraries Network). Search TRLN provides a single search interface to the TRLN Libraries' Collections.
- If it is not within the libraries of TRLN, try Worldcat. Worldcat is a world-wide catalog of books, articles, visual materials, etc.
- Quickly find primary sources in our catalog by using the faceted "Genre" search (video).
Databases
Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.
More databases can also be found at East Asian Studies.
- The Tibetan and Himalayan LibraryThe Tibetan and Himalayan Library is a publisher of websites, information services, and networking facilities relating to the Tibetan plateau and southern Himalayan regions. THL promotes the integration of knowledge and community across the divides of academic disciplines, the historical and the contemporary, the religious and the secular, the global and the local.
- Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980From the British National Archives, this digital collection consists of British Foreign Office (FO) files covering the period 1949-1980. It addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the Peoples Republic in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao Zedong, the arrest of the Gang of Four, and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976. These files, combining eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to examine developments in China and to assess US, Soviet, British, European and Commonwealth relations with China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), from 1949 onwards.
- Country Studies/Area Handbooks (Library of Congress)Contains the online versions of books previously published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army.
***No access restrictions. Coverage varies for countries. - FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals PlusCreated by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
***Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. - Sunday Times (London) Digital ArchivePublished since 1822, a rich complement to the Times (London) Digital Archive.
***Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. - H-BuddhismH-Buddhism serves as a medium for the exchange of information regarding academic resources, new research projects, scholarly publications, university job listings, and so forth, for specialists in Buddhist Studies who are currently affiliated with academic institutions.
- Resources for East Asian Language and ThoughtResources for East Asian Language and Thought by A. Charles Muller, Faculty of Letters, University of Tokyo
- Six Chinese Classics• Analects of Confucius 論語
• Great Learning 大學
• Doctrine of the Mean 中庸
• Mencius 孟子
• Daode jing 道德經
• Zhuangzi (Chapter One) 莊子 - Buddhist, Confucian, and Daoist E-texts, Indexes, and BibliographiesBuddhist, Confucian, and Daoist E-texts, Indexes, and Bibliographies
- Digital HimalayaA project to develop digital collection, storage and distribution strategies for multimedia anthropological information from the Himalayan region
Connect with us
