Finding Data Sets for the Health and Natural Sciences: Biological Sciences
A guide to finding data sets in the health and natural sciences disciplines.
Created by Health Science Librarians
General Applied Sciences Data Sets
- DryadRepository for data underlying peer-reviewed articles. Currently, coverage is particularly strong for evolutionary biology and ecology but partner journals include: Science; BioMed Central; BMJ Open; Molecular Biology and Evolution and Public Library of Science (PLoS).
- ExPASySwiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) portal to databases and software tools in 11 areas, including, genomics, proteomics and population genetics.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)Maintains and provides retrieval and analysis of more than 30 biological databases, including: BioProject, Epigenomics and Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM).
- Nucleic Acids Research Database SummaryThe journal, Nucleic Acids Research, annual database summary with 1512 databases organized into 15 categories, including: human genes and diseases, protein sequences and immunology.
Molecular Biology Data Sets
- Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes (dbGaP)Database for genotypic and phenotypic studies. Contains 4 types of data: study documentation; individual level and summary phenotypic data; genetic data and statistical results. Two levels of access: open and controlled.
- GenBankThe NIH collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
- Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO)International public repository for high-throughput functional genomic data with curated data sets that form the basis of GEO's analysis tools.
- Researcher's Guide to Finding Molecular Biology DataA link to the Researcher's Guide to Finding Molecular Biology Data created by librarians at the UNC-Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library. This guide provides an in-depth description of how to use select molecular biology databases.
Ask Us
We are here to help!
Classes
Phone (919) 962-0800
Text/SMS (919) 584-5931
Access Information
On Campus Access: Electronic resources are accessible on-campus. Faculty, students and staff must register personal laptops and mobile devices with UNC-Chapel Hill ITS.
UNC Hospitals Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you first select the resource. Note: UpToDate is available within EPIC.
Off Campus Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you first select the resource. Most electronic resources are accessible off-campus to students, faculty, and staff, including UNC Hospitals' staff.
Connect with us
