This is the "Home" page of the "ARTH 157: Intro to Latin American Art and Visual Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ARTH 157: Intro to Latin American Art and Visual Culture  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/arth157 Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Latin American Art

Figure F017309

José Clemente Oroszco: The Trench (1926), fresco, Escuela Nacional Preparatoria, Mexico City; © 2007 Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York/SOMAAP, Mexico City, photo credit: Schalkwijk/Art Resource, NY

 

What is in this guide?

This page provides links to important resources selected for students taking ARTH 157 and those interested in the topic of Latin American art and visual culture. We've included resources that may include primary source material related to the works you are researching.

Featured Resources

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

  • Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective
    Art Full Text indexes and offers full text for a wide array of journals in the fields of art history, architecture, craft, design, landscape architecture, museology, photography and video, and much more, while Art Index Retrospective cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929 and 1984. Full-text is available for many citations.
  • JSTOR
    An archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.
  • Iconography, Mythology, Symbolism (guide)
    A guide to resources that explain the iconography, mythology, and symbolism in works of art.
  • Heilbrunn Timeline of Art
    Compiled by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's curatorial, conservation, and education staff, covers pre-history to the present day. Contents arranged chronologically, geographically, and thematically.
  • The New Catholic Encyclopedia
    The online version of a major older work, originally published in 1917, and one of the first major encyclopedias to be devoted to Catholicism.
 

Evaluating Sources

Here are a few criteria that you could consider in order to determine whether or not an article, book, or website is of a quality worthy of inclusion in your research assignment (e.g., paper, presentation, etc.).

Art Librarian

Profile Image
Heather Gendron
Contact Info
Sloane Art Library
102 Hanes Art Center
(919) 962-2397
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Architecture
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip