Health Topics (Military Health)
Search Health Topics

Recommended Sites (Español: TRICARE)
TRICARE is the military health system funded and managed by the Department of Defense. Health care is provided to active duty uniformed service members, active duty families, retirees and eligible family members, and other beneficiaries. Specialized coverage is also available to members of the National Guard, Reserves, and their families.
Understanding TRICARE
- Your TRICARE Benefits Explained – Provides a brief overview of the program.
- Your TRICARE Patient Rights - A description for beneficiaries to explain your rights and access to services during a hospital inpatient stay.
- TRICARE: Standard – Provides summaries of the main TRICARE programs.
- TRICARE for Retirees
- TRICARE North Region – TRICARE is currently organized into three geographic regions with a network of contractors providing services in each region. North Carolina lies in the TRICARE North region, and the contract provider for this region is Health Net Federal Services, Inc.
- TRICARE North Provider Directory -- Search the directory to find TRICARE providers in your area.
- TRICARE Pharmacy Program
- TRICARE - Contact Us
Eligibility & Enrollment
Entry into and continuing care within the TRICARE system is only available with a current registration in the Defense Enrollment Eligibility Reporting System (DEERS).
TRICARE Plans
TRICARE services are organized into three levels of care: TRICARE Prime, TRICARE Standard, and TRICARE Extra. There are also special programs available. Each service level is chosen by the beneficiary based upon geographic location and availability of service providers. Costs vary with the level of service and the status of the beneficiary. Active Duty and Guard and Reserve service members must enroll in a TRICARE Prime option. However military dependents and retirees must choose the TRICARE option that best suits their needs. To help you determine what options you are eligible for use the Plan Wizard.
TRICARE Prime offers the most comprehensive and affordable coverage. Most health care takes place at military treatment facilities (MTFs) and within the Preferred Provider Network (PPN) of contracted Civilian Medical Providers. All active duty and retired service members, as well as their family members, are eligible. National Guard and Reserve members, as well as their families, are also eligible if the service member has been activated for 30 consecutive days.
- TRICARE Prime Overview
- TRICARE Prime Remote – For members and their families living in remote areas of the United States.
- TRICARE Prime Overseas – For members and their families stationed overseas.
- TRICARE Prime Remote Overseas – Available in designated remote overseas locations for active duty service members and their families.
TRICARE Standard and Extra is a fee-for-service plan available to all non-active duty beneficiaries throughout the United States. Enrollment is not required. Coverage is automatic as long as your information is current in the Defense Enrollment Eligibility Reporting System.
- TRICARE Extra Overview
- TRICARE Standard Overseas – For family members stationed overseas.
Other Programs
- TRICARE Dental Plan Overview – A voluntary dental insurance program that is available to active duty family members, as well as National Guard and Reserve members and their families. For retirees and their eligible family members there is also the TRICARE Retiree Dental Program.
- TRICARE Extended Care Health Option (ECHO) – A program that supplements the TRICARE program option that you are already eligible for; it provides financial assistance to eligible beneficiaries who qualify based on specific mental or physical disabilities. See more supplemental programs: Special Programs.
- TRICARE For Life – A plan offering Medicare-wraparound coverage for TRICARE beneficiaries who have Medicare Parts A and B.
- TRICARE Reserve Select – A premium-based health care plan that qualifying National Guard and Reserve members may purchase.
- TRICARE Retired Reserve – Retired members of the Reserves, along with their family members, may be eligible for medical and dental benefits.
Other Insurers
- Children (NC Health Choice for Children, NC Department of Health and Human Services) - North Carolina Health Choice (NCHC) for Children is a free or reduced price comprehensive health care program for North Carolina's children. If your family makes too much money to qualify for Medicaid but too little to afford rising health insurance premiums, your child(ren) may qualify for North Carolina Health Choice.
Who is eligible for Medicaid? (see Health Insurance)
Resources compiled by Jennifer Walker, William E. Laupus Health Sciences Library, East Carolina University.
This page presented by Citizen-Soldier Support Program.
For Health Professionals
Providing health services to military families? Visit the AHEC Digital Library Military Mental Health Collection»
Ask a Health Sciences Librarian
Librarians can help you find the health information you need!
- Email your question
- Make an appointment for a private consultation at no charge
- Visit the UNC Health Sciences Library
Telephone: (919) 962-0800
Text/SMS: (919) 584-5931



Loading...
