Reference Sources
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature [electronic resource]
Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism
Literary Cultures of Latin America: A Comparative History
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Latino History and Culture: an Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Diasporas: Immigrant and Refugee Cultures Around the World
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Getting Started
Citing
L.C. Call Numbers
This Library of Congress classification system holds true for any library in the world using the LC system. For example, Spanish language dictionaries will be classed between PC4001-PC4977; Spanish literature will be in the call number range PQ6001-PQ8929, with literature of Spanish America within that, PQ7081-PQ8560.
Call No. Locations in Davis
Use this Location Guide to find books in Davis.
How Do I...?
How do I...? Help for citing sources, conducting a literature review, etc.
The Writing Center
Handouts to help with writing a paper and more.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
What is in this guide?
This guide contains materials to support ROML 057: Nature in Latin American Literature: Ecology, Gender, Race, and Other Issues, for Fall 2012.
Databases and E-Journals
- Academic Search CompleteAbstracts & references for articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade & general publications, & references for The NY Times.
- ISI Citation Databases (Web of Science)Provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded(TM), Social Sciences Citation Index(R), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index(R).
- JSTORJSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.
- Project MuseProvides access to the full text of more than 40 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics published by The Johns Hopkins University Press.
- Literature Resource CenterLRC contains the text of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, as well as selected critical excerpts or full text articles from various sets of literary criticism. It is possible in LRC to search for authors individually or to search for "Authors by Type," limiting by period, movement, nationality, etc.
- GenderWatchA full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
- MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore and cultural studies.
- Women's Studies InternationalAn interdisciplinary database covering women's issues worldwide. (*Best used with Internet Explorer or Firefox.)
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)Not limited to just literary journals, HAPI indexes a variety of subject areas. Indexing from 1970 - present.
- More Article Databases
- How Do I Find Articles?
- How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?
- How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?
Catalog Search Tips
Subject searching for books in the Library's catalog is often best done by beginning with a Keyword Search . Start with a Keyword Search and identify one or more relevant books. Then look at the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) given in the Full Records of those titles. You can follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find similar books, or you can use the terms in the subject headings to revise your search strategies. For more specific results, it may help to combine searches, i.e., "feminism nature literature latin america."
Keyword Search: caribbean literature encyclopedias
Search by LC Subject Heading: Latin American literature--Encyclopedias
Keyword Search: nature literature
Search by LC Subject Heading: Nature in literature
Keyword Search: feminist latin american literature
Search by LC Subject Heading: Feminism and literature--Latin America
Search for books By a literary author as an Author search; search for books About a literary author as a Subject search.
Author: Bombal, María Luisa
Subject: Bombal, María Luisa
Other Potentially Useful LC Subject Headings:
American literature--Mexican American authors--History and criticism
Stereotypes (Social psychology) in literature
Brazilian literature--20th century--History and criticism
UNC catalog search
Librarian Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Davis Chat
Film
- Film FinderSearch for films at the Media Resource Center (basement of Undergraduate Library) by country, title, release year, director, description, or genre.
- The Institute for the Study of the Americas Film CollectionThe Institute for the Study of the Americas houses a collection of videos/DVDs and resource materials.
News Articles
- Latin American NewsstandLatin American Newsstand provides full-text content in Spanish, Portuguese, and English from 37 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil.
Other Resources
- LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)Containing over 12,000 unique URLs, LANIC is one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet. Maintained at the University of Texas at Austin.




Loading...
