This is the "Get Started" page of the "ENGL 105:100 Writing in the Humanities- Art (Geil)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 105:100 Writing in the Humanities- Art (Geil)  

Last Updated: Nov 12, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/content.php?pid=401998 Print Guide Email Alerts

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Writing About Art

Stepping Out

Roy Lichtenstein, Stepping Out, 1978, Oil and Magna on canvas. Image courtesy of Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Find Background Info

  • Oxford Art Online
    Includes the Grove Art Online, an encyclopedia of art, with general introductions to a variety of topics related to this course.
  • Heilburnn Timeline of Art
    Compiled by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's curatorial, conservation, and education staff, covers pre-history to the present day. Contents arranged chronologically, geographically, and thematically.
  • Subject Guide for Iconography, Mythology, Symbolism in Art & Visual Culture
    In this guide, you'll find a selection of resources helpful when researching iconography across different geographic regions and chronological periods.

Find Articles

  • Art Full Text and Retrospective Index
    Art Full Text indexes and offers full text for a wide array of journals in the fields of art history, architecture, craft, design, landscape architecture, museology, photography and video, and much more, while Art Index Retrospective cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929 and 1984.
  • JSTOR
    Provides good cross-disciplinary coverage of art related topics. Please note that this database does not typically include articles published within the last few years.
 

Evaluating Sources

Here are a few criteria that you could consider in order to determine whether or not an article, book, or website is of a quality worthy of inclusion in your research assignment (e.g., paper, presentation, etc.).

Art Librarian

Profile Image
Heather Gendron
Contact Info
Sloane Art Library
102 Hanes Art Center
(919) 962-2397
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Architecture
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip