Finding Primary Source Materials: Government

Provides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.

Comprehensive source of current and historical U.S. Congressional material, including bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Code, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.

Government Printing Office govinfo service provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. It links to the U.S. Code, the Federal Register, Federal bills, the Constitution, Congressional documents and more.

Contains declassified material originating from many U.S. government bodies and agencies, including CIA, FBI, Justice Department, National Security Agency, State Department, and the White House. Covers major domestic and international events since the end of World War II. Note: a more complete version of this collection is available in microfiche at Davis Library.

Contains a comprehensive set of declassified government documents and is a strong complement to the Declassified Documents Reference System. Includes collections of important primary source materials relative to U.S. foreign policy since 1945, accompanied by reference and secondary material.

An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation.

LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to preserving legal titles and government documents, and making copies inexpensively available digitally. It provides an archive of scanned copies of a variety of documents published by federal and state governments, donated by member libraries. Coverage varies. Some foreign and international jurisdiction documents are included.

Transcripts from the British House of Commons and House of Lords, 1803-2005. Search by speaker, Member of Parliament or topic. For the working documents of the British government, see House of Commons Parliamentary Papers.

Working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. With all collections available, HCPP includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.

Electronic repository for official documents published by the UN, including those of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries.