Assignment Resources
Background Information
The new encyclopedia of Southern culture / Charles Reagan Wilson, general editor
Ferris, William R. and Charles R. Wilson. Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 1989.
Frank, Andrew K. The Routledge Historical Atlas of the American South. New York: Routledge, 1999.
Morrison, Olin D. The American South: A Historical Atlas. Athens, OH: E.M. Morrison, 1965.
Powell, William S., ed. Encyclopedia of North Carolina. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 2006.
The South / edited by Rebecca Mark and Rob Vaughan
Manuscripts Department Reference: F209 .S68 2004
"Surveying the South," a collection of articles from Southern Cultures about the South and the attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors of Southerners.
What is in this guide?
This course page contains links to resources for American Studies 488: Material Culture of the South such as the Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts.
Interested in more classes in American Studies or Southern Studies?
American Studies at Carolina
The Department of American Studies offers a major and a minor, both with interdisciplinary approaches that empower students to value the complexity of the US by engaging with a variety of historical, literary, artistic, political, social, and ethnic perspectives.
Concentration in Southern Studies
As an American Studies major, you can complete a concentration in Southern Studies, with requires completion of nine courses that focus on Southern culture.
PhD in American Studies at UNC
Considering graduate school? You can get a PhD in American Studies at UNC.
Center for the Study of the American South
The The Center for the Study of the American South extends the historic role of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as the world’s premier institution for research, teaching, and public dialogue on the history, culture, and contemporary experience of the southern United States. The Center promotes initiatives in the University's tradition of regional service and scholarship.
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is the world’s best-equipped institution to study The American South. Carolina’s scholars and research collections are unparalleled resources for the study of Southern history, folklore, literature, and arts. The University’s social scientists and technical experts offer informed visions for its future. UNC’S institutional resources on the South include the Southern Historical Collection, the Southern Folklife Collection, the Research Laboratories in Archaeology, the Odum Institute for Research in the Social Sciences, southern collections at UNC’s Ackland Museum of Art, and The Center for the Study of the American South (CSAS), which houses the Southern Oral History Program and the award-winning journal Southern Cultures.
UNC catalog search
Acdemic Journal Articles
- America, History and LifeFind links to articles on all aspects of North American history
- Academic Search CompleteSearch for articles on material culture and literature.
- JStorGreat source for articles on culture and literature published from the early 1900s up through approximately five years ago.
- Project MuseAccess to articles from several journals that deal with aspects Judaism in America, including the American South
- Articles+
- MLA International BibliographySource for literary criticism, and articles on linguistics, folklore, and cultural studies.
Historical News Articles
The Accessible Archives
Contain the full text of important American newspapers from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Includes nineteench century African American newspapers.
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Offers full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper, from 1851 to 2001.
Librarian Profile |
Chat requires JavaScript. Links: Profile & Guides |
Writing Resources
UNC-Chapel Hill's Writing Center
Avoiding passive voice:
Active and Passive Voice
Verb Tenses
Passive Voice




Loading...
