(This image may be subject to copyright)
This guide provides an introduction to resources helpful in the study of Francophone cinema
Quick Links - Provides links to databases for locating scholarly criticism and reviews of films
UNC Resources - Provides links for searching UNC's book, article, and film holdings
Other Professional & Popular Sites - Provides links to academic and professional websites and to additional film and cinema resources
Provides guided help for citing using MLA or Chicago.
Create citations in the right format using this web form.
Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.
- Film Index International
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. Indexing films from over 170 countries, it is inclusive of all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters.
- FIAF Film International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
Created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.
- Film & Television Literature Index
Film and Television Literature Index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
- MLA International Bibliography
Provides some film criticism even though it is primarily a literature collection.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Includes many journals about film and media.
- Film Literature Index Online
International articles on film, television, and video published 1976-2001.
- Academic Search Complete
Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles. Search for the movie title as Reviews and Products in drop-down menu, and select Entertainment Review for Document Type.
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text access to general, regional and international news and will be helpful for reviews beyond those in English language sources.
- New York Times
Search for film Reviews from 2005-present.
- New York Times Historical
Search for film reviews in the New York Times from 1851-2005.
- Film Review Annual (1981-2002)
Excellent print source for film reviews from the 80s, 90s, and early 2000s.