This is the "Home" page of the "FREN 371: Survey of French Literature II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FREN 371: Survey of French Literature II  

Last Updated: Jan 2, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/FREN371 Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this guide?

This guide is designed for general research in French and Francophone literature and cinema as it captures and reflects society, class, and political thought of the 17th century.

  • Home/General Databases - Subject Librarian contact information and Quick Links
  • Searching - Search boxes for the Library Catalog, WorldCat, and Google Scholar as well as so relevant searches
  • French Resources - French language resources online and in print
  • Film & Cinema - Links to the MRC and important review sites
 

Citing

Citing Information Tutorial

    citation builder icon

      Create citations in the right format using this web form.

      refworks icon

        Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.

        Important Databases

        These are full-text databases provide coverage of issues most relevant to this course.

        • MLA International Bibliography
          MLA indexes literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
        • Literature Resource Center
          Offers critical and biographical information about authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, as well as author biographies and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
        • CAIRN
          Full-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
        • IBZ Online (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
          The IBZ Online is a universal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent. The search interface is in English. The print counterpart is Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur; earlier titles exist from 1896.
        • Academic Search Complete
          Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles.
        • Periodicals Index Online
          Periodical Index Online provides keyword indexing to the contents of over 4700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, and includes separate records for approximately 15 million journal articles across 37 subject areas and 44 languages and dialects.

        West European Librarian & GRAS Section Head

        Theses & Dissertations

        • Dissertations & Theses
          Indexes US dissertations from 1861 to as recent as last semester with full text available from 1997. The database covers work done at more than a 1000 institutions, primarily in the United States but also in Canada, Great Britain, and some continental universities.
        • Dissertations and Theses @ UNC-Chapel Hill
          This data base provides electronically, free full texts of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008.
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip