Park Library Chat
Fun Books to Peruse
Park Library
What is in this guide?
This page provides links to important resources for the study of the history of broadcasting. Professor: David Cupp at UNC's School of Journalism and Mass Communication.
In this guide, you will find:
- TV News Online - view news clips and transcripts from major networks and local affiliates
- Background Info - find articles and images related to your news event
image from iconarchive
Helpful Databases

- NBC News Archives Over 13,000 NBC News video clips in all areas & time periods. Includes newsreels from the 1940s, coverage of the Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, coverage of the first day of school in Little Rock in 1957, an interview with Eleanor Roosevelt from 1959.
- Historic NewspapersFull-text and images of seven historic newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution (1868 to 1945), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1987), The Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986), The Los Angeles Times (1881-1989), The New York Times (1851 to 2 or 3 years ago), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and The Washington Post (1877 to 1996). great visuals!
- Associated Press ImagesFeatures notable figures and images from significant events of the 20th and, occasionally, the 19th centuries (an 1844 photograph of Abraham Lincoln; 1880 photographs of the Brooklyn Bridge). mid-19th century-present. great visuals! Note: Images are covered by U.S. copyright law and can only be used for class projects.
Studying in the Park Library
All are welcome in the Park Library!

Thanks to...
... Park Library staffer Madeline Veitch for her work on this guide.
Your Librarian |
Contact Info Park Library at UNC's School of Journalism & Mass Communication, Carroll Hall (919) 843-8300 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
About the Park Library
The Park Library is supported by the School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Read more about our mission or about Roy H. Park.
We welcome the use of our collections and services by all students and researchers.





Loading...
