African Art Survey

Unidentified artist, African, Nigerian, Nok Culture; Female Figure, 100 BCE - 200 CE; terra cotta, 19 1/2 x 5 x 5 in. (49.5 x 12.7 x 12.7 cm); Ackland Fund, 97.15
Get Started - Find Background Info
The databases and books listed below contain valuable background, introductory and biographical information related to African art and artists. These resources are oftentimes good places to start your research.
- Oxford Art OnlineIncludes the Grove Art Online, an encyclopedia of art, with general introductions to a variety of topics related to this course.
- The Black Artist in America:an index to reproductions
- St. James Guide to Black Artists
- African Ethnonyms: Index to Art Producing Peoples of AfricaAn aid to navigating the numerous variants in tribal names and places. Includes country index.
- The Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art: Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceania, and Native North AmericaActually an A-Z dictionary; includes a useful index.
- Monographs on African Artists: An Annotated BibliographyBy Janet L. Stanley, National Museum of African Art Library, the Smithsonian Institution Libraries. Covers 20th and 21st century African artists.
- Nigerian Artists: A Who's Who and Bibliography
- Modern African Art: A Basic Reading ListBy Janet L. Stanley, National Museum of African Art Library, the Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
Evaluating Sources
Here are a few criteria that you could consider in order to determine whether or not an article, book, or website is of a quality worthy of inclusion in your research assignment (e.g., paper, presentation, etc.).
Art Librarian |
Art Library Chat
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.


Loading...
