This is the "Newspapers, Journals, Major Af Am Collections" page of the "Drama 284 - 002: African American Women in Theatre (Prof. Kathy Perkins)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Drama 284 - 002: African American Women in Theatre (Prof. Kathy Perkins)  

Last Updated: Jan 14, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/dram284-002 Print Guide Email Alerts

Newspapers, Journals, Major Af Am Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Crisis, July 1918 (Sketch of Nora E. Johnson by Frank Walts)


(image may be subject to copyright)

 

Davis Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Citing

Citing Information Tutorial

citation builder icon

Create citations in the right format using this web form.

refworks icon

Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.

 

Early African American Newspapers & Journals

The simplest way to search for an individual electronic title is via a title search in the Library's E-Journal Finder.  These individual titles may also be part of larger digital collections that may also be useful (see Af Am Resources below).  Remember, however, that many titles have not been digitized and these may be found in other formats (e.g., paper, microfilm) via a "Journal Title" search  (pull down menu) in the Library's main Catalog.

See also this guide to African American Newspapers.

Unscrambling newspaper and journal titles for specific dates & placces of publication can be confusing.  For clarification, consult African-American newspapers and periodicals : a national bibliography  Davis Reference Desk & Stone Center Reference PN4882.5.N39 S37 1998

The Crisis (via Google)

Opportunity; [serial] journal of Negro life.

Davis Library (4th floor)  E185.5 .O6 (v.2, 1924 - v. 27, 1949)

Pittsburgh Courier (various editions)

New York Age/ New York Freeman/  New York Globe

Baltimore Afro-American  (1893 - 1988) /  Afro-American (Baltimore, Md. : 1915) (2003 - present)

Chicago Defender (various editions)

Colored American (1837 - 1841)

Colored American Magazine (Boston & New York)
Davis Library Microfiche (lower level) Call number: Serial 1-138 (1900 - 1909)

Christian Recorder (1861 - 1882) Western Christian Recorder (1898 - 1899)

Also:  Davis Library Microfilm (lower level) Call number: Serial 1-397 (1854/56; 1861 - 1902)

Richmond Planet   (1889 - 1910 Library of Congress) 

National Era (Washington, D.C.) (1847 - 1860)

Freedom's Journal (New York) (1827 - 1829)

North Star (Rochester, N.Y.) (1847 - 1851)

 

Contemporary Journals

American Theatre (1992 - present)
Davis Library (7th floor) PN2000 .A437 (1984 - present)

 Black Masks (1984 - present)

 

Major African American Resources


See additional resources under African American Studies.

Black Studies Center

An important source for current scholarship and historical journals/newspapers.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Provides full text of many ethnic publications, ca. 1960 to present.

Oxford African American Studies Center  (Oxofrd dbs may be slow to load)

This includes many reference works, such as Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, various Oxford Companions, and the African American National Biography.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Includes a number important African American newspapers, in addition to NY Times, LA Times, etc.

 

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Tommy Nixon
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-3808
Send Email
 

Anna Deveare Smith's Fires in the Mirror

(image may be subject to copyright)

 

TopDog/Underdog(Suzan -Lori Parks) + Trailer

(image may be subject to copyright)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip