Medieval Iconography

Unidentified Artist
Initial R: Christ in Glory, n.d.
Cutting from a manuscript; gold leaf on parchment
3 3/4 x 3 15/16 in. (9.5 x 10 cm)
Ackland Art Museum, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Cultural and Historical Context
- Dictionary of the Middle AgesPeople, places, events, subjects and concepts are defined in articles varying from brief descriptions to full length studies.
- The International Center of Medieval Art Resource List
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceAccess medieval and Renaissance resources featuring the Iter Bibliography, Iter Italicum, bibliographies of Milton and English women writers, and a full text journal collection.
General Iconography
- Hutchinson Dictionary of SymbolsBrief entries on secular and religious symbols.
- Encyclopedia of Comparative IconographyFocuses on themes from iconographic narratives (biblical, mythical & literary). Substantial entries include selected examples of art work and further reading.
- Medieval Art: a topical dictionaryA dictionary reference to the topics, themes, symbols, and stories found in early Christian, Western Medieval, and Byzantine art.
- Medieval Iconography: a research guideCites references for articles on medieval iconography in English and every other major European language. Encompasses illuminated medieval manuscripts, sculpture, medieval encyclopedias, preaching handbooks, illustrated bestiaries, alchemy, astrology, costumes, and medieval ideas of beauty and the body.
- Symbols and Legends in Western Art: a museum guide
Religious Iconography
- The New Catholic Encyclopedia
- Butler's Lives of the SaintsThis compact edition includes short biographies of 365 saints, arranged in order of their feast days. An index lists all saints alphabetically. Also includes 'patron' list of saints sorted alphabetically by subject. If you're hungry for more information, there is a 12 volume annotated edition available in Davis Reference.
- The Golden Legend: Readings on the SaintsPopular legends from the 13th century, useful for iconographic research as they were a source for artists.
We have a number of copies of earlier editions in the circulating collection - look here to find them. - The Dent Dictionary of Symbols in Christian Art
- The Encyclopedia of Jewish Symbols
Art Librarian |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
|
Art Library Chat
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Evaluating Sources
Here are a few criteria that you could consider in order to determine whether or not an article, book, or website is of a quality worthy of inclusion in your research assignment (e.g., paper, presentation, etc.).


Loading...
