This is the "Biographical Research" page of the "English 128 - 002: Major American Authors: The Way We Work (Prof. Robin Smith)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
University Libraries banner

English 128 - 002: Major American Authors: The Way We Work (Prof. Robin Smith)  

Last Updated: Jan 16, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/engl128-002 Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Biographical Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Walt Whitman Crossing Brooklyn Ferry

 

(image may be subject to copyright)

 

Davis Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Citing

Citing Information Tutorial

citation builder icon

Create citations in the right format using this web form.

refworks icon

Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.

 

Biographical & Literary Encyclopedias

Biographical Research on Major Authors can be straightforward, and the encyclopedic sources below should have information on most if not all of these authors.  However, to get discussion of an author's working life, you may have to go to a full-fledged biography of him/her. (For this, see Author Biobraphies, below.)

American National Biography  (Oxford databses may be slow to load.)

"The American National Biography highlights the lives of over 18,000 persons who have been important and influential in the history of the United States, from the early days of European exploration to the present."  The ANB includes only deceased persons.

Literature Resource Center

The LRC provides biographical and critical information on many authors.  It includes the text of the more than 350 volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography.  Search for Person By or About -- and then select Biographies (e.g., Catharine Beecher).

Oxford African American Studies Center

Use this Oxford database for additional information on Harriet Wilson & Charles Chesnutt.

The Oxford encyclopedia of American literature

Includes information on individual authors, literary movements, etc.

 

UNC catalog search with Links (search opens in new window)

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

Google Scholar



Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Tommy Nixon
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-1151
Send Email
 

Harriet Wilson

(Image may be subject to copyright)

 

Emily Dickinson/Voices & Visions segment

(Image may be subject to copyright)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip