Relevant Databases
Data Sources
These are examples of secondary data sources for numeric data. For spatial data, please see the Course Guide for GIS Classes.
- data.gov
- Stats DataFinder
Climate Data - NCDC Climate Data Online
Demographics - Social Explorer
- Social Explorer: How to videos
- Census Data Resources Guide
- State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS)
Economics - Bureau of Economic Analysis Regional Economic Accounts
- LED On The Map
Education - National Center for Education Statistics
Environment - EPA Where you live
Health - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- National Center for Health Statistics
- North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics
What is in this guide?
Global Geographies of Change is a capstone to your undergraduate career. Its intent is to summarize and crystalize your understanding of geography. This guide compiles resources to assist you in this course, including article databases, access to the library catalog, and data sources.
For additional resources, please see the Geography Subject Guide and the Course Guide for GIS Classes.
UNC catalog search with Links (search opens in new window)
Citing
Films and Media
Sreaming Media (Hundreds of full-length streaming videos)
Video Search Engines
Youtube ; Google Video ; Truveo ; Vimeo ; Metacafe ; Viddler ; Dailymotion
Film Databases
Provides in-depth indexing of reviews and criticism for over 100,000 films and biographical information on film personalities. Film Index International includes records on films from over 170 countries and has extensive coverage of international film awards. Its rich content also includes searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists, as well as references to periodical articles on film and filmmakers.
Streaming video of full length documentary and educational films. Many of the films were made specifically for teaching - so the database features Study Guides alongside many of the titles and also includes filmmaker biographies, interviews, release notes, etc. Geographic and cultural group browses allow users to highlight sections of a map to find result sets, and searchable transcripts scroll with the films.
FMG Master Academic Collection
Streaming video of full length documentaries from Films Media Group's Master Academic Collection. The Master Academic Collection digital video archive includes more than 5000 complete videos with approximately 500 new titles added every year. Subject areas include: Humanities & Social Sciences, Science, Business & Economics, and Health. The collections are dynamic – as new programs are added, they will be available to current subscribers automatically.
Librarian Profile |
Chat requires JavaScript. |





Loading...
