Google Scholar UNC
This guide points to many sources for book reviews. Also, the databases for finding scholarly articles often also identify reviews in those journals.
H-Net Reviews is a good source for scholarly reviews.
In addition, the Web of Science (don't let the name fool you) allows you to track articles as they are cited through time and also identify book reviews.
Finding Scholarly Articles
First, you will want to know about different types of periodical articles.
The databases listed below are good starting points to find scholarly articles for your research.
- Historical Abstracts
For journal articles, dissertations & book reviews on nations other than the United States and Canada.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
Cover 220 journals which focus on the study of Jewish affairs and Judaism.
- ATLA Religion Database
Major index to articles, book reviews, and essays in the field of religion.
- Index Islamicus
Major bibliography of publications in European languages on Islam and the Muslim world.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Covers more than 300 scholarly journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
- International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes periodicals, books, essay collections, etc. covering the European Middle Ages, ca. 450-1500.
One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress Subject Headings within the item's full record tab and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar or related books.
- Keyword: Jews Counter-Reformation
- Associated Subject Heading: "Jews -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- Poland -- History."
- Associated Subject Heading: "Judaism -- Controversial literature -- History and criticism."
- Keyword: Judaism Enlightenment
- Associated Subject Heading: "Judaism -- Germany -- History -- 18th century"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Antisemitism -- France -- History -- 17th century."
- Associated Subject Heading: "Europe -- Intellectual life -- 18th century."
- Keyword: Jews Spain bibliography
You can then refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.