Academie francaise

Créée en 1635, « La principale fonction de l’Académie sera de travailler, avec tout le soin et toute la diligence possibles, à donner des règles certaines à notre langue et à la rendre pure, éloquente et capable de traiter les arts et les sciences. » (Article 24 des statuts.)
Citing
What is in this guide?

This guide provides links to a variety of dictionaries in order to appreciate the development of the French language.
Resources for Class Assignment
- ARTFL Dictionnaires d'autrefoisThis data simultaneously searches Jean Nicot's Thresor de la langue française (1606), Jean-François Féraud's Dictionnaire critique de la langue française (1787-1788), Émile Littré's Dictionnaire de la langue française (1872-1877) and the Dictionnaire de L'Académie française 1st (1694), 4th (1762), 5th (1798), 6th (1835), and 8th (1932-5) editions.
- Furetière. Dictionnaire universal. 1690Posthumous first edition
- Furetière. Dictionnaire universel. 1701Revised second edition.
- ARTFL-FRANTEXTARTFL-FRANTEXT is the main ARTFL database, comprising more than 3,500 French language texts from the 12th through the 20th centuries--approximately 215 million words and 675,000 unique word forms
- Textes de Français Ancien (TFA)This databases includes digital versions of Old and Middle French texts.
Other Lexicographic Resources
- Cotgrave.A Dictionarie of the French and English Tongues. 1611.
- Richelet, Dictionnaire françois : contenant les mots et les choses, plusieurs nouvelles remarques sur la langue françoise.... 1680.
- Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française.1694.This version from Gallica. Editions 1-6 and 8 are more easily searched in ARTFL Dictionnaires d'autrefois.
- Furetière. Dictionnaire universal. 1690Posthumous first edition
- Furetière. Dictionnaire universel. 1701Revised second edition.
- Textes de Français Ancien (TFA)This databases includes digital versions of Old and Middle French texts.
- Database of Latin DictionariesThe Database of Latin Dictionaries offers three types of Latin dictionaries, those assisting in the translation of Latin in modern languages, those providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words, and historical Latin dictionaries.
Search the UNC catalog
Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat
Subject: french language -- dictionaries
West European Librarian |
Chat requires JavaScript. Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
