What is in this guide?
Since formal industries in North Carolina began to replace small, subsistence agriculture in the nineteenth century, the history of North Carolina has been inextricably tied to industrial development. Banking, biotechnology, furniture, naval stores, textiles, and tobacco are a few of the prominent industries that have shaped the state's history and cultural character.
This research guide introduces researchers to a selection of the resources available on industrial history in the North Carolina Collection at Wilson Library at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. This guide does not include all of the titles about North Carolina industries in the collection, but is intended to provide good starting points for research.
- Banking - Resources on banking in North Carolina
- Biotechnology - Resources on biotechnology in North Carolina
- Furniture - Resources on furniture in North Carolina
- Naval Stores - Resources on naval stores in North Carolina
- Textiles - Resources on textiles in North Carolina
- Tobacco - Resources on tobacco in North Carolina
White Oak Cotton Mills, Greensboro, N.C.
North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives
This pathfinder was created by Anne Fleming as part of a class project in Spring 2007. It was updated by Sarah Everhart in May 2009, and again in July 2013 by Tyler Gilmore and Matt Karkutt.
Here are two very general reference resources that provide a nice starting point for researching the industries discussed in this guide.
About Special Collections
The Wilson Special Collections Library is home to the University of North Carolina's North Carolina Collection, Rare Book Collection, Southern Folklife Collection, Southern Historical Collection, and University Archives and Records Management Services. The five special collections hold unique and rare books, organizational records, personal and family papers, photographs, moving images, sound recordings, and artifacts that document the history and culture of the University, the state, the region, the nation, and the world. The Wilson Library is free and open to the public.
North Carolina Collection