This is the "Home" page of the "Frenchness Since WWII" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Frenchness Since WWII  

FREN 377 Fisher Fall 2013
Last Updated: Aug 27, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/frenchness Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this guide?

This guide will provide links to critical literature and primary resources for the study of Francophone literature and such topics as colonisation, identity, diaspora, and creolisation.

This page is divided into four sections:

1) Home - General Library Information and Library Databases

2) Searching - Includes searching the catalog, WorldCat, and Google Scholar

3) French and Francophone Resources - Projects and Databases Useful for this Course

4) Film & Cinema Resources - Learn about the MRC, Find Films and Streaming Media, Links to Review Literature

Relevant Databases

These are full-text databases provide general coverage of issues relating to Francophone studies.

  • MLA International Bibliography
    MLA indexes literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
  • CAIRN
    Full-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    Provides full-text access to general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information, and other topics such as biographical information.
  • IBZ
    IBZ Online is a universal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences.
  • Ethnic Newswatch
    Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. and provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Offers critical and biographical information about authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, as well as author biographies and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It contains annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square
  • Periodicals Index Online
    Periodical Index Online provides keyword indexing to the contents of over 4700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, and includes separate records for approximately 15 million journal articles across 37 subject areas and 44 languages and dialects.

Theses & Dissertations

  • Dissertations & Theses
    Indexes US dissertations from 1861 to as recent as last semester with full text available from 1997 on. Masters’ theses are covered more selectively and some full text is available. The database covers work done at more than a thousand institutions, primarily in the United States but also in Canada and Great Britain, and at other European universities for recent years.
  • Dissertations and Theses @ UNC-Chapel Hill
    This data base provides electronically, free full texts of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008.

West European Librarian & GRAS Section Head

 

Bibliographic Management Tools


Refworks is a web-based bibliographic management and formatting program. RefWorks is available to all current UNC students, faculty, staff, and alumni.


EndNote is a reference management software package compatible with most Windows and Mac computers.


Zotero is a free citation management tool, available at Zotero.org. It keeps track of your sources as you do your research in library E-resources or on the Web.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip