This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 284 - Reading Children's Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 284 - Reading Children's Literature  

A selection or resources for the use of students in ENGL 284: Reading Children's Literature.
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/engl284 Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

UNC catalog search with Links (search opens in new window)

   

Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

 

Davis Library Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Evaluating Sources

This tutorial provides an overview of how to evaluate resources.

Evaluating Information

 

Writing Center

Need help writing a paper?  The UNC Writing Center is a free service for students and faculty.  Make an appointment with a tutor or check out their online resources.

UNC Writing Center

 

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

 

Call Numbers in Davis Library

Use this Location Guide to find books in Davis.

 

Indexes and Databases

MLA International Bibliography
A major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. In addition to indexing several thousand journals, MLA also covers relevant books, book chapters, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
N.B.: In MLA it is necessary to search for the literary author as subject by his real name rather than by literary pseudonym (e.g. Lewis Carroll as Dodgson, Charles Lutwidge).

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
ABELL is the British counterpart to MLA and is a very important supplement to MLA for English language literatures. It is possible to search both MLA & ABELL as a "combined search."

ARTstor
ARTstor is a major collection of high quality images. Search either by individual (e.g., Lewis Carroll) or try "children's literature."

JSTOR
JSTOR provides an archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. Coverage is from the first issue of journals to the recent past several years. MLA links to JSTOR articles.

Project Muse
Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. The MLA database now links to Project Muse journal articles

Academic Search Complete
Abstracts & references for articles from more than 8,200 scholarly, trade & general publications, & references for The NY Times. A very broad, interdisciplinary index linking to much full text, Academic Search Premier is less specialized for literary criticism than MLA but good for book reviews, play & film reviews, etc. since about 1980.

NoveList K-8
NoveList K-8 allows children in kindergarten through grade 8, their parents, and their teachers to identify books appropriate for children's reading abilities and interests.

 

Print Indexes for Children's Literature

Children's literature review [serial]. Detroit, Gale Research.
Information & Library Science Library Reference - Index Shelves PN1009.A1 C5139 Library has: v. 1- TO DATE Currently received.

Something about the author [serial]. Detroit, Gale Research.
Information & Library Science Library Reference PN451 .S6 Library has: v. 1- TO DATE Currently received.

Children's authors and illustrators : an index to biographical dictionaries. Joyce Nakamura, editor. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., c1987.
Information & Library Science Library Reference Z1037.A1 N18 1987

The storyteller's sourcebook : a subject, title, and motif index to folklore collections for children, 1983-1999. By Margaret Read MacDonald and Brian W. Sturm. Detroit : Gale Group, c2001.
Information & Library Science Library Reference GR74.6 .M3 2001

 

Catalog Search Tips

Subject searching for books in the Library's catalog is often best done by beginning with a Keyword Search . Start with a Keyword Search and identify one or more relevant books. Then look at the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) given in the Full Records of those titles. You can follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find similar books, or you can use the terms in the subject headings to revise your search strategies.

Keyword Search: children's literature american

Search by LC Subject Heading: Children's literature, American--History and criticism.

Search by LC Subject Heading: Children--Books and reading--United States.

Search for books By a literary author as an Author search; search for books About a literary author as a Subject search.

Author: Carroll, Lewis, 1832-1898.

Subject: Carroll, Lewis, 1832-1898

 

Encyclopedic Resources for Children's Literature

Literature Resource Center
LRC contains the text of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, as well as selected critical excerpts or full text articles from various Gale criticism sets.  The Dictionary of Literary Biography provides bio-critical articles on authors as well as some topical articles.  Note: the print volumes may contain illustrations not available in the online version, and are available in Davis Reference.

The Oxford encyclopedia of children's literature. [electronic resource] Jack Zipes, editor in chief. Oxford ;New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Information & Library Science Library Reference PN1008.5 .O94 2006

The Cambridge guide to children's books in English. Edited by: Victor Watson ; advisory editors, Elizabeth L. Keyser, Juliet Partridge, Morag Styles. Cambridge ;New York : Cambridge University Press, 2001.Cambridge ;New York : Cambridge University Press, 2001.
Information & Library Science Library PR990 .C36 2001

International companion encyclopedia of children's literature. 2 vols. Edited by Peter Hunt. London ;New York : Routledge, 2004.
Information & Library Science Library Reference PN1008.5 .I57 2004

The essential guide to children's books and their creators. Anita Silvey, editor. Boston : Houghton Mifflin Company, 2002.
Information & Library Science Library PS490 .E85 2002

The Norton anthology of children's literature : the traditions in English. Jack Zipes, general editor ... [et al.]. New York : W.W. Norton, c2005.
Information & Library Science Library Reference PZ5 .N655 2005

Children's literature : an illustrated history. Eited by Peter Hunt ; associate editors, Dennis Butts ... [et al.]. Oxford ;New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.
Davis, U.L., & Information & Library Science Library PR990 .C496 1995

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Rebecca Vargha
Contact Info
School of Information & Library Science
Manning Hall 115-B
(919) 962-8361
Send Email

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Tommy Nixon
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-3808
Send Email
 

Literary Theory and Terminology

A handbook to literature. William Harmon. 11th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, c2009.
A very clearly written handbook.
Davis Reference Desk PN41 .H355 2009

The Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism. 2nd ed. Edited by Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman.Baltimore, Md. : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005.
Davis Reference PN81 .J554 2005

Children's literature and critical theory : reading and writing for understanding. Jill P. May. New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.
Information & Library Science Library PN1009.A1 M38 1995

 

English Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary
The most authoritative dictionary of the English language.

American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language (5th ed.)

 

Websites for Children's Literature

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip