Aging Research Guide: Databases & Journals
A guide for researchers in the field of aging
Created by Health Science Librarians
Recommended Biomedical Databases
Core health information sources for practitioners interested in aging research are listed below. UNC affiliates can search for other databases using the search box..
- AgeLine
AgeLine, produced by AARP, focuses on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy, and indexes journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos.
- BIOSIS Citation IndexLife Sciences research from 1926 to present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL Plus with Full Text is a collection of more than 770 full text nursing & allied health journals dating as far back as 1937, with bibliographic indexing for more than 5,000 additional nursing and related journals. Also included are select health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
- Cochrane LibraryLeading source for full-text systematic reviews in health care. Searches a collection of databases that includes the CDSR, CENTRAL, Clinical Answers, and selected reviews from Epistemonikos. RCTs are from Medline, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, the WHO ICTRP, CINAHL (since 2020) and more. Click on "Search Limits" or the Browse tab to select content from a specific database.
- HealthSource: Nursing/Academic EditionAbstracts and some full text for hundreds of journals focused on health and medical disciplines.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health DatabaseThis resource supports nursing and allied health professional education and practice with full-text journals, dissertations, e-books, practice guidelines, study resources, and an assortment of videos from MedCom.
- PubMedCovers biomedical literature from 1950-present, including access to MEDLINE. Default, as of May, 2020, is to the new platform.
- ScopusComprehensive coverage of peer-reviewed journal and conference literature across biomedical, social science, humanities, science and technical disciplines.
Geriatrics & Gerontology Journals
This is a brief list of journals pertaining to aging and geriatrics. For a complete list of geriatrics journals available through UNC Library subscriptions, click here.
- Age and Ageing
- Aging and Disease
- Alzheimer's & dementia : diagnosis, assessment & disease monitoring
- Alzheimer's & dementia : translational research & clinical interventions
- American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry
- Experimental Gerontology
- Journal of Aging and Health
- Journal of Aging and Physical Activity
- The Journals of Gerontology (Series A, Biological sciences and medical sciences and Series B, Psychological sciences and social sciences)
- Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS)
- Mechanisms of Ageing and Development
- Neurobiology of Aging
- Parkinsonism and Related Disorders
- Psychology and Aging
- The Gerontologist
Additional Social Science and Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and AbstractsIndexes journal articles in over 500 journals published in 19 different countries. Subjects include health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses - ProQuest Psychology DatabaseClinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
- ProQuest Social Science DatabaseResearch covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
- ProQuest Sociology DatabaseSociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
- PsycInfoDatabase from the American Psychological Association covering the academic research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.) from over 60 countries in more than 29 languages. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
- Social Services AbstractsSocial Services Abstracts indexes and abstracts current journals and other periodicals in the disciplines of social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Social Work AbstractsThe Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains records, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- Sociological AbstractsDatabase covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
Database Tips
A to Z Databases
- browse by title
- browse by subject
- search by database name
Connect with us
